Beef Tacos – I think I’m beginning to like Mexican Food!

Beef tacos made with ground beef is Americanized food, Tex-Mex, I hear. Authentic Mexican food is made with shredded boneless beef, no shortcuts!  I would not know, I have never been to Mexico and might never go there in my life and for me right now, life is too short to ……well, shred some beef!
I am so busy in the kitchen all day with recipe development so come supper, I need to make something quick and interesting. I do have a “blog monster” to feed, right?
I could have bought the taco shells, but  that would have been too easy. I needed a bit of a challenge so on to Google I went and found this easy recipe, but I decided to deep fry the taco shells instead of baking them. I know, a naughty move, but hey, this is my blog, so I can!

Beef Tacosenough for about 10-12 taco shells

2 Tbsp olive oil
2 onions finely chopped
4 cloves garlic – finely chopped
1 tsp chili flakes
1 Tbsp ground coriander
1 Tbsp ground cumin
1 kg lean beef mince
1 red pepper, chopped
2 cans chopped tomatoes
1/4 cup tomato ketchup
1/4 cup tomato paste
1 cup water
25gr dark (70%) chocolate
2 cans red kidney beans
salt and pepper to taste.

Heat oil in pan. Saute onion until soft. Add garlic and fry for 1 minute.Add chili, coriander, cumin and stir well. Toss in the meat and brown. Stir in red pepper, chopped tomatoes, tomato ketchup, paste, water and chocolate and mix well. Simmer for 45 minutes. Add more water if necessary. Add kidney beans and season well. Transfer to serving dish.

Place the beef and small bowls on the table with guacamole, tomato salsa, grated cheese, coriander, shredded lettuce, chili and some sour cream and let the good times roll! With a long weekend upon us, this is just the kind of thing  to serve. If you could not be bothered to make your own taco shells, buy them ready made, but I did feel a sense of accomplishment for trying!

Some other ground beef recipes that you might be interested in:

Bobotie

Meatballs with Banana and Onion relish

Supper in a bundle

Don’t forget that Friday 24 September is Braai Heritage Day.  Stock up on meat and other delicious goodies to braai. Gather some friends, make a fire and celebrate our heritage! In case you are all out of ideas, here is just the link for you! I will be serving this delicious Mushroom Pasta Salad with some grilled chicken, lamb and beef!