Pumpkin Fritters

I posted this recipe for pumpkin fritters about 2 years ago and have sins adapted the recipe to improve the taste. Not that there was anything wrong with the original recipe, I just think this one is better. The change in method was so small and yet the change in taste was quite significant and to think it all happened  so coincidentally……
My blog is taking a serious back seat at the moment, not because I don’t care for cooking or sharing recipes anymore, on the contrary… it is because of my love for sharing that I have very little time for blogging these days! I am fortunate to be doing  cooking demos, launches for clients and also many other public appearances so for me it was a case of adapt or die in the the kitchen. I had to find short cuts and clever ways to deal with  presenting my family with a hearty meal every night.

Here are a few things I do to save time……

  • If I roast meat or chicken, I double up on the quantity so in stead of roasting 1 chicken, I will do 2. The second roast chicken becomes two more meals, Moroccan Chicken Sandwiches and a Chicken Salad. Leftover Roast Lamb also makes the most divine sandwiches or maybe a ragu to serve with pasta.
  • While you oven is on, roast some veggies, tomatoes for a really good pasta sauce, roasted brinjal slices are brilliant for make these vegetarian rolls and leftover potatoes are great for knocking a quick quiche together…. and of course pumpkin…….wait for it!
  • Cooking my rice in the morning before I leave the house. Bring rice and water to a rapid boil, boil for 10 minutes, place lid on pot and remove from heat.
  • Coming home to a stew or soup that have been bubbling away all day in the slow-cooker…priceless!

Which brings us back to the pumpkin fritters…….. what is the small change I made, can you guess it? Yes, I roasted some pumpkin while my oven was on and the roasted pumpkin made a huge difference in the taste of the fritters….. So here is my adapted recipe.

Pumpkin Fritters

Ingredients
500gr pumpkin – weigh after it has roasted, so you will have to roast about 800 gr (even butternut will do)
120g flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
vegetable oil for frying
cinnamon sugar for dusting

Peel and cut the pumpkin into chunks and roast in a preheated oven on 180C until the pumpkin is soft and has little bits of caramelizing. Remove from the oven and  allow to cool. Mash the pumpkin and mix with all the other ingredients.Heat a little oil in a pan and when the oil is hot, drop spoonfuls of the batter into the oil. When golden brown on both sides, take out of the oil and drain. Dust with cinnamon sugar and serve.

Do tune in to RSG on Thursday mornings just after 9 when I share these delicious recipes. You can also listen online here:


This Saturday 9 June, I will be in Menlyn Park from 10.00 – 4.00. Come and cook with me and win big prizes….I hope to see you all there!

