Greek Honey Cakes

I had these Greek Honey Cakes in my mind the minute I woke up yesterday morning. For a change we had no sport, no birthday parties and no shopping to do….just a chilaxing Saturday with my own little family. I also like to do a few recipes on Saturday mornings just to get ahead with my posts for the week. Hubby and the children normally watches a movie together and I get to spend a quiet morning in my kitchen……
My husband only laughs when I tell him this, but I swear, I “saw” these Greek Honey Cakes. In my mind they were this deep golden brown color with a honeycomb texture, absolutely drenched in butter and honey… I searched a bit for a recipe, but to no avail……it was then that I remembered my mom’s vanilla cake recipe with the light honeycomb texture. I decided to go with that recipe and just added the “Greek” elements which was the lemon and honey….
The end result was everything I had hoped it would be. While busy styling and shooting(still in my pajamas), the doorbell rang and friends came over for a cup of coffee. Imagine how special they felt when they were treated to these delightful Greek Honey Cakes. (The truth is that they had to help me finish the shoot before we could devour these cakes)

Greek Honey Cakes 
makes 8 small cakes

Ingredients
250 ml flour
125 ml sugar
20 ml baking powder
pinch of salt
125 ml milk
3 T butter (no margarine)
1 egg
zest of 1 lemon

For the syrup

3 T honey
2 T butter
juice of 1 lemon
lemon zest for serving
250 ml Greek Yogurt
2 T confectioner sugar

Method
Preheat the oven to 180C and spray a muffin pan with non-stick spray.
Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder and  salt together. Heat the milk and butter so that the butter melts completely. Add the egg and whisk with a fork or ball whisk. Mix the egg mixture and the dry ingredients together. Add the lemon zest and spoon into 8 muffin moulds. I only filled each mould halfway to allow the cakes to rise. Bake for 15 minutes.
In the meantime, make the syrup, by melting the honey, butter and lemon juice together. When the cakes are done baking, remove from the muffin pan, turn upside down on a serving plate and pour the honey/butter mixture over the cakes.
Serve with Greek yogurt that has been sweetened with the 2 T of confectioner’s sugar.
Enjoy with strong black coffee or an espresso or two.

More Sweet treats
