Smoked Snoek Tartlets and Soup for a quick supper!

A dozen of these Smoked Snoek Tartlets and some chunky vegetable soup, saved my behind last night for supper. I don’t know about you, but my days are definitely a few hours too short and at the end of each day I have too many items that I need to move onto tomorrow’s schedule. Having two children preparing for exams and sport and choir practices, does not make this any easier. I suppose this is why my blog was started in the first place…to show mums in my situation it can be done…..
We are in the process of building our brand new website( yes, it is time to grow up!), I am embarking on a few trips around the country with a brand new client of which I will tell you all about in the near future and then there is a million other things to do, so time for elaborate recipes and integrate meals, is limited to say the least. I have to be very creative and innovative.
I feel somewhat embarrassed to even call this a recipe, but I suppose this is how new recipes are invented every day…..out of necessity and what is available in my fridge…..so here goes!

Smoked Snoek Tartlets
makes 12 tartlets

Ingredients

For the crust
125 gr butter – cut in blocks
250 ml flour
250 ml grated cheese
1 tsp curry powder
Place all ingredients in a food processor and blitz until it just comes together. Place a piece of dough (the size of a walnut) in the bottoms of a 12 serving muffin pan and flatten to form the crust.

For the filling
500 g smoked snoek or angelfish – deboned and flaked
500 ml Greek yogurt
125 ml chopped parsley
3 eggs

Mix all the filling ingredients and spoon  into all the muffin holes. Bake for 20-25 minutes and serve with a steaming cup of chunky vegetable soup….

Chunky Vegetable Soup

1 packet (700g) Woolworths Soup Mix: Fresh Low Gi Lentil & Barley 
1 onion
1 tsp smoked paprika
2 T olive oil
1 tin chopped tomatoes
4 cups chicken stock
1 sachet Red pepper pesto – Soup it up
1 T sugar

Heat the oil in a soup pot and saute the onions. Add all other ingredients and allow soup to cook for about 30 minutes. Serve with a dollop of  Greek yogurt and some delicious Smoked Snoek tartlets. 
salt and pepper to taste


If you are making a proper meal out of the Smoked Snoek recipe you can make individual tarts and serve with vegetables of even simple salad.


More easy supper ideas
