Fruity Chicken Bake

Lip smacking, rib sticking, finger-licking fruity chicken bake. Sorry folks, got a bit carried away, but be prepared to write this recipe down quite a few times. You can of course just send them to My Easy Cooking and save yourself the trouble. Unless of course you want me to be your closet chef…I don’t mind at all, just make the fruity chicken, you’ll be so glad you did.
This has been such a fantastic week. So many amazing things have happened for which I am so grateful. I have learned that persistence and dedication pays off and that every dark cloud does indeed have a silver lining. I will reveal all these wonderful new things to you in days to come, but for now all I can say is….”stick around!”
Talking about “Stick(y)” around….this Fruity Chicken Bake is just that….. sweet and sticky and utterly delicious! Before I get to the recipe, just a little thought……
On Friday night I had the honor of cooking alongside the  amazing Sonia Cabano and what a fun experience it was too. The function was in the form of a Black Tie dinner  and dance at Nelson’s Creek and Sonia and I had to each prepare a Steak and Sauce for which the guests then had to vote. I think the winner of the evening was the Chere Botha School! I was humbled by the dedication and passion of all involved with this school and I have not only been reminded of all my many blessings but also remembered my years teaching children with special needs and what an enriching journey it has been.
If you feel the need to donate some time or money, I am sure they will appreciate every bit of assistance they can get. You can contact:

 Marty Loubser
FUNDRAISER
Cheré Botha School
Direct Tel: 021-949 3339
Reception: 021-948 9134
Fax: 021-948 9693
Cell: 084 9266150

Fruity Chicken Bake
serves 4

Ingredients
8 free-range chicken pieces, I use drumsticks and thighs
125 ml flour
salt/pepper
200 ml good quality mayonnaise
200 ml chutney – Mrs Balls or Wellingtons – you want a chunky one
125 ml golden sultanas
8 small onions – the ones they use for pickling
100 ml sweet wine – I used Muskadel

Method
Preheat oven to 170C
Clean chicken and season with salt and pepper. Place all the chicken pieces in a plastic bag and add the flour. Toss the chicken pieces in the bag until all the pieces are evenly coated with flour. Place chicken in an oven-proof casserole. Mix the chutney, mayo and sweet wine and pour over the chicken. Place onions in a glass bowl and cover with boiling water. Allow to stand for a few minutes, it helps to remove the skin without cutting the bottom part of the onions.( the onions must stay whole during baking) Place the peeled onions in between the chicken pieces. Scatter the sultanas over the top and bake uncovered in the preheated oven for about 1 hour. If you feel your oven is too hot  and the sauce is burning, turn down the heat and just bake for a while longer. Serve on rice or mashed potatoes with some sweet baby peas or a salad if you prefer.

  
More Chicken Bake recipes 

