Donuts or dougnuts……as if the spelling matters!

I am very particular with donuts or doughnuts, which ever you prefer. They must be soft, a light oily surface, but when you bite into a doughnut , it must be pillow-soft, with no oil. An oil-drenched doughnut, gives me the creeps and heartburn for a week! Maybe that is why I eat donuts once a year and suffer the consequences if there are any. Well, I don’t know if it is a good thing or not, but since I’ve  made these baked donuts, things have changed, no more greasy donuts and no more horrible consequences!
Oops, I forgot about adding all the weight, but I promise to have only one, ok!
There is something so rewarding about making your own dough. I just love the chemistry of it all, taking 3 very simple ingredients) flour, water and yeast) and creating something as delicious as a loaf of bread or in this case baked donuts. I am sure you will find a recipe here that you would like to try, all started with 3 basic ingredients, flour, water and yeast….magic!




Why am I in this baking mode? Well, apart from the fact that it is my weekly therapy, anybody reading this who has a teenager son in the house will understand….They are hollow, between their necks and their feet, is this hollow trunk that never-ever fills up. I am beginning to think there are little hungry monsters living inside his tummy, devouring every morsel he eats, leaving him hungry all the time. He gets up from the table and this is what he says….” thank you for the food mom, it was lovely” and before I can respond with a “Thank you, son” he utters those dreaded words…” So, mom, what can I eat?”
Needless to say, these donuts were a treat and the recipe makes a lot, so it sorted out a lot of what-can-I-eats!
The bonus is that the donuts are baked, so no need to feel guilty is you eat too many, at least you’ve cut down on some of the fat….

Baked Donuts/ Doughnuts
makes 24

1 kg cake flour
1 sachet of instant yeast
1 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
1-2 tsp fine cinnamon
2 cups milk
1 cup boiling water
100gr butter
2 x 100gr slabs chocolate
125ml sprinkle nuts or toasted almonds

Preheat oven to 180C.
Cut the butter in small cubes and  place in a mixing bowl. Add the boiling water and allow the butter to melt completely. Add the 2 cups of milk and keep ready. Mix the dry ingredients and  add the liquids while mixer is running. Keep about 100ml of the milk/butter mixture to use as a wash for the donuts. If you are doing this by hand, place dry ingredients on a clean work surface, make a well in it and add the water slowly while mixing it with the flour. When completely mixed, knead for about 5 minutes until dough is elastic and ready to roll out.Roll out the dough to about 2 cm thick and use a doughnut cutter to cut out the donuts.Brush the donuts with the milk/butter liquid and leave to rest for about 10 minutes and then bake  them in a preheated oven for 15 minutes or until they are golden brown.
When the donuts have cooled down completely, dip them in melted chocolate and sprinkle with nuts.

If you like this recipe and many other on My Easy Cooking, please vote for me in the Eat In Awards. It will motivate us to keep going even in the wee hours of the morning when I normally work. Just click on the picture below and follow the instructions.  Thank you!

 
