How to make the perfect Rosti on RSG

I made my debut on RSG ( my weekly radio slot) with rosti and after all this time, I still get numerous emails and requests of people struggling to make this simple, yet utterly delicious delicacy. You see, a rosti is like an open canvas and last night when I posed the question on Twitter, I was amazed to hear what people eat on their rosti……..
Toppings varied from Cold Gold’s idea for Canadian maple syrup cured bacon from Cure deli with caramel crunch ice cream, bacon and avo to Michael Olivier’s Eggs Benedict. By the end of that Twitter session, my mouth was watering profusely. Of course many people still prefer the old favorite…..Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese, which still is one of my favorites.
As you know by now, we are not eating meat, so that ruled out the salmon, the Canadian Syrup cured bacon and pretty much all things meaty.
My quest was to serve a meal that was packed with goodness from the earth, something that will not only taste darn good, but also be good for your body.

My son has found the love of his life…….. WATERPOLO! Phew, I am so happy it is not a girl yet, but this sport is tapping so much from him, that he is losing weight in stead of gaining it. He is building muscle, I hear words like six pack and carves when he talks to dad where and when moms are not allowed. Bottom line, he is tired, they train like crazy and we are now contemplating putting him on some kind of vitamin or supplement. Before I go that route, I will try with smoothies, fruit juices, lots of raw fruit and vegetables and water. So although we all wanted the Bacon and Avocado topping for our rosti, this power packed version was just what the doctor ordered.
Back to the purpose of this post. I know that you will all come up with fantastic toppings and leave some ideas in the comments. I would love to try them all, but this is to teach you the finer know-how of how to make the perfect rosti.

Rosti
serves 4 

8  large Potatoes – washed and dried
200 ml  Cornstarch
125ml  Vegetable Oil

Salt/Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Peel the potatoes and grate them on the coarse side of the grater into a bowl of cold water. Swirl and rinse the potatoes to get rid of the excess starch. This step is essential as it prevents the potatoes from coloring. Lift them from the water and dry in a salad spinner and when they are dry, transfer to another large bowl. Add the cornstarch, salt and pepper and toss the potatoes in the bowl to ensure that each and every piece of potato is coated with corn starch. Do not let the potatoes sit for too long though, or they will release their starch and the centers of the potatoes can become sticky.
I use a big catering size skillet. Heat the skillet and add the oil. When the oil is hot add the potatoes to the pan. It should fill the pan about 3/4. Flatten lightly. Turn the heat down to the lowest setting, cover with foil  and let the rosti cook for about 10 minutes. Halfway through the cooking time, remove the foil and slip a egg lifter under the rosti to see what is happening. If the rosti has a lovely brown color,
take the pan from the heat, place a suitably large plate on top of the rosti and turn the pan upside down so the browned side is facing upwards. Return the rosti to the pan and the pan to the heat, add more oil and butter and slide the rosti back into the pan to cook the other side. Patience is a virtue, your rosti should be crisp and not greasy.

 
Power packed rosti: grilled baby aubergines, frilled tomatoes and roasted butternut with a heap of greens, such as rocket of watercress. Drizzle with balsamic glaze and a dollop of Greek yogurt.
 If you like this recipe and many other on My Easy Cooking, please vote for me in the Eat In Awards. It will motivate us to keep going even in the wee hours of the morning when I normally work. Just click on the picture below and follow the instructions.  Thank you!

 

For more rosti ideas



