Sarah Graham from Bitten cooks on RSG

(function() {
    window.PinIt = window.PinIt || { loaded:false };
    if (window.PinIt.loaded) return;
    window.PinIt.loaded = true;
    function async_load(){
        var s = document.createElement(“script”);
        s.type = “text/javascript”;
        s.async = true;
        if (window.location.protocol == “https:”)
            s.src = “https://assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js”;
        else
            s.src = “http://assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js”;
        var x = document.getElementsByTagName(“script”)[0];
        x.parentNode.insertBefore(s, x);
    }
    if (window.attachEvent)
        window.attachEvent(“onload”, async_load);
    else
        window.addEventListener(“load”, async_load, false);
})();

The first time I met Sarah Graham was at a Silwood Cooking course. I was the all-knowing-have-been-blogging-for-years and she was the newbie who had just started her own blog A Foodie Lives Here. Well as the saying goes, first impressions last and I could sense from our very first encounter, that this girl is going places. My gut feeling was right and  it is therefor with great pride and admiration that I  share with you more exciting news……Sarah has just finished her first book, Bitten and what a delight it is too! What makes this book even more remarkable is the fact that while writing this book, she also had a little baby girl and moved to Johannesburg(which, with time, we will forgive her!).I received the book last week and have not been able to put it down. I like the size of it, the rustic feel to it and the book is really so much more than a recipe book, with every page I get to know Sarah a little bit better. I love the easy, no-fuss recipes. I love the fact that I have most of the ingredients available. In short, I love the book, I think you should all have a copy. Go quick, find an Exclusive Books and get Bitten, I predict this book will go into second print…..

With us still not eating meat, there were quite a few recipes on my to-try list, but the one I felt like making last night, was the Mashed Chickpeas and roasted Butternut….. of course with a little Nina twist!

Mashed Chickpeas and Roasted ButternutPin It

from Bitten by Sarah Graham

Serves 4

Ingredients
1 250 gram peeled and cubed butternut
1 large onion – peeled and sliced in thin slices
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 x 410gram can chickpeas – drained and rinsed
1 clove garlic – chopped
½ – 1 teaspoon dry chili flakes
 1 tablespoon chopped fresh coriander
salt and pepper to taste

Method

Preheat the oven to 200C. In a microwave-proof dish with a lid, cook the butternut in the microwave oven  on High for 5-6 minutes or until soft. Transfer the butternut to an oven-proof dish, add the sliced onions and drizzle with the olive oil, cumin, salt and pepper. Roast for 10-15 minutes or until golden. Add the chickpeas for the last 2-3 minutes to warm through. In a warmed serving bowl, roughly mash the butternut and chickpeas with the garlic and the chili flakes and serve on spicy cous cous with a dollop of yogurt, chopped chilies and fresh coriander.

Tomorrow morning just after 9 ( between 9 and 9.30) I will be having a live interview with Sarah on RSG. You can listen to it online or tune in between 100-104FM.
Tune in to win your own copy!
If you enjoy reading my blog and want it to develop and grow, please vote for me in drones. Bribe your family members, bosses, colleagues and all-knowing teenagers, just please VOTE!!!

Please join me on:

