Por favor for Mexican Spud Skins!

Deep fried spud skins! Come on people really? Can you think of anything more tempting than that? YES, I can! Spud skins with a Mexican Twist, in other words  smothered in Tomato salsa and topped with loads of sour cream and chillies…..See what I mean? Few things can compare, for sure!
We are on day 26 with no meat and still every meal is new and interesting. I reckon it is because I am such an adventurous cook that we have survived this long, but hubby reckons his strong will power is the key. Nevertheless we are going strong and I must say during the week, we do not miss meat, but on weekends, I must admit, a little skaaptjoppie(lamb chop) on the grill is not easy to resist.

There is however no use in cutting out meat, but not die off some of the other kitchen evils, such as too much deep-frying. Now before you all jump up to ask me if I have never tasted a donut straight from the oil, dusted with sugar, I want to assure you, I have and yes, it is delicious, but too much of a good thing is bad for you and therefore, I have not one, but two Air Fryers in my kitchen and they work overtime. Not because we love fried food, but because it is the fastest way I know to make supper in a hurry.
I woke up with this craving for potatoes and as the day progressed, my cravings  went from mashed potatoes, to potato and butternut cake to rosti, but my final decision was Mexican Spud Skins, served with a spicy Mexican Salsa, some fresh lettuce and some sour cream.
I will explain how to make the spud skins in two ways, the conventional oven method and then the much faster Air Fry method. To me, no difference in taste, but the Air Fryer version has a lot less fat. So here goes!

Mexican Spud Skins 
serves 4

Ingredients
8 medium size potatoes
1 teaspoon sea salt
3 tablespoons cooking oil

1 x 410 gram tin All Gold Mexican Style tomatoes
1 cup(250ml) sour cream
fresh rocket for serving

Preheat oven if you are using this method to 180C. Wash and dry all the potatoes under cold water. Use a kebab stick and prick all the potatoes and if you are using the conventional oven, rub the potatoes with a little oil, sprinkle with sea salt and then place on a baking sheet and bake at 180C for one hour or until the potatoes are cooked. If you are using the Air Fryer, place the potatoes in batches of 4 into the basket of the Air Fryer and bake on 160C for 50 minutes to an hour.If you can fit more than 4 potatoes in your Air Fryer, please do.

Once the potatoes are cooked, allow to cool down for about 5 minutes and then use a sharp knife to quarter all the potatoes. With a teaspoon, scrape out most of the potato flesh leaving you with 32 thick spud skins. Place back in the oven, drizzle with a little oil and bake until the spud skins are golden brown in color and crunchy. When you make them in the Air Fryer, place all the spud skins in the basket and drizzle with a little oil. Bake for about 15 minutes, check and if you need to bake some more, just push the basket back in and finish the process.
In the meantime, warm up the  tomatoes and plate up with each person getting a little bowl with tomato, a little bowl of sour cream and some lettuce. If you need more heat, add some chopped chili.

Enjoy
