Honey and Mustard Pork Sausages with Roasted Onion Dip

These Honey and Mustard Pork Sausages with Roasted Onion Dip was not only a mouthful-title for my post but also most delicious mouthfuls to eat. The flavors were so perfectly balanced with the sweet from the honey, slight tart and bitterness from the mustard  and then the creaminess of the dip with the smokey, rustic roasted onions…….delightful, even if I have to say so myself.
I don’t know about you, but although we have been  all over the Western and Eastern Cape for our holiday, I am definitely not rested, therefor I have decided  to extend the holiday in my home for another couple of weeks. How am I going to do this with hubby and I back at work and the children back at school?  I am going to keep doing holiday style cooking and maybe work in a beach picnic here and there too.. What is wrong with serving our supper next to the pool instead of in the blazing hot kitchen. Yes, sometimes it takes little changes to make the world of difference.

I have written about my family’s “carnivorous” tendencies before and every year after a long holiday with mom, hubby declares: “I’m going vegetarian!” Now although mom and I think it is a slap in the face,he says his body just tells him, ” easy up on the meat my friend!” This year, I was ready for him, maybe because I had good practice with all the Meatless Monday Recipes, but not everybody in the family shares his temporary vegetarian believes and the children still asks for a little meaty snack. These sausages were just perfect for them and the roasted onion dip/pate was perfect for dad and he was quite happy with a few slices of grilled ciabatta, some of the pate and a side salad. That is what cooking is all about, adapting to your own needs and specifications. We all read recipes and try new ideas, but make them your own, give them your own unique twist!

Roasted Onion Dip
Ingredients
2 red onions – quartered
1 tablespoon olive oil
a pinch of dry oregano
a pinch of sea salt
250 gr cream cheese
freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 180C. Roast onions until they are soft and caramelized. I normally do a few onions when I have the oven on for something else. Cool the onions. If you make a whole pan full, keep it in some olive oil in the fridge, it is perfect for sandwiches and salads.
Once the onions have cooled down, place them in a blender with the cream cheese and blitz until mixed. We like ours chunky. Spoon into a pretty bowl and start with the sausages.

Honey and Mustard Pork Sausages
Ingredients
1 kg fresh or smoked cocktail pork sausages
1-2 tbsp mustard seeds
2 tbsp honey
freshly ground black pepper
a squeeze of fresh lemon juice
a sprig of  thyme

Preheat oven to 180C. Place all the sausages on the baking sheet and drizzle with the honey, mustard seeds and all the other ingredients. Roast the sausages until they are golden brown and cooked. Place on a platter with the roasted onion dip and see how fast they can disappear again!

More holiday style recipes
