Countdown to Christmas Menu – Ice-cream in two different ways!

In our Countdown to Christmas, I could not resist adding another dessert to our already packed dessert buffet for Christmas. We already have mom’s trifle, a Festive Meringue Roulade, Christmas Pudding complete with pennies, but we almost forgot the ice cream. Fatal mistake, I know, but luckily I thought about it just in time. The children will most definitely pass on the Christmas Pudding (maybe they will look for the pennies), so there has to be some delicious ice-cream for them to enjoy.
Let the truth be known, what actually made me think of the flavor combinations of these ice cream desserts, was my recent trip to my hairdresser. Strange but true. You see, Nina ( that’s moi) is fortunate to now have a personal hairdresser. Yes, Maverick Hair in Sea Point came on board the My Easy Cooking team and they will in future keep me in tip-top shape. Fancy schmancy, yeah! Well, what does all this have to do with ice cream? When the very talented Ciske asked me about hair colors, she knew exactly which buttons to push….caramel, ginger, chocolate, nutty….. Let me be honest with you, hair color was the furthermost from my mind, ice cream was!
If you are adventurous enough this time of the year, you are most welcome to try making your own ice cream with this easy recipe, but if I have to choose between churning my own ice-cream or walking on the beach, it is a no brainer which one I will chose.

What would you say if I told you with only three ingredients, you can make 2 lovely ice cream desserts for your Christmas day or if it seems a little too over the top, try at least one of them. Easy peasy, trust me! Time is running out, let’s make it quick!
You will need: ( for one of the recipes, so if you make both, double up)
1 packets of ginger nut biscuits
1 tin of dulce de leche or Nestle Caramel
1 liter good quality vanilla ice-cream

Ice Cream Pies
Soften the ice cream in a big bowl and mix the tin of caramel in with the ice cream. Now make sandwiches with the biscuits using two biscuits on either end. Freeze until ready to eat.
Ginger and Caramel  Ice Cream Loaf
Crush ½ the packet of biscuits and mix in with ½ of the ice-cream. Place back in the freezer. Take the caramel from the tin and spoon about 3/4 onto a layer of foil. Shape into a thin log and roll up. Place in freezer. Spoon the ice cream with the biscuits into a loaf tin that is lined with plastic film. Place the caramel log in the middle and then spoon the other ½ (plain) of the ice cream on top. Flatten with a spatula and place in freezer until you are ready to serve. When you want to plate up, simply place a warm cloth over the bottom of the loaf tin and wait for ice-cream to release. Drizzle with more caramel and serve in slices!

For a personal consultation and a head massage of note, contact Mavericks Hair
Tesna Engelbrecht
Tel: 021 434 5163
301 Main Road

Sea Point

