Bookkeeping and 2011 Bloggers on RSG

As 2011 is coming to its end, it is always a good thing to do some blog bookkeeping to determine if  you are still on track with what your have planned for this year. Just to see if you are still in line with the goal you have set for yourself at the beginning of this year. This weekend, I had a long trip on the train and I had enough time to sit and think uninterrupted thoughts about when and where I am heading…
The on Sunday morning when I woke up, I saw the results of the the South African Blog Awards and it made this book keeping exercise quite easy, because you see my goal was to feature SA Bloggers on my radio slot on RSG every Thursday morning and I managed to pull it off. I am proud to say that one of my featured bloggers, Ishay from Food and the Fabulous, won the The Pick ‘n Pay Best Food and Wine Blog and Sam from Drizzle and Dip was a finalist.
Ishay’s achievement made me think about all the lovely bloggers I met while prepping for my show every week. It was such an amazing journey. So many of these featured bloggers have moved on to excel in what they are doing. This may sound like a goodbye, but it is not, I will be featuring many more talented bloggers in 2012, but for now allow me to just have a walk down memory lane. Coming with?

Kristy’s Mexican Bean Crumble

The first every blogger I featured on  RSG was, Marisa from the Creative Pot. We made a Coconut Iced Coffee, which was delicious, Marisa has in the meantime really moved on and gave birth to a baby girl earlier in this year. Whilst her routine involves nappy changes and bottles right now,  I hope she will be returning to her blogging routine soon.

Next up was Jane-Anne from Scrumptious South Africa and because we were in the month of love, she made a lovely Valetine Panna Cotta. It was not only beautiful to look at, it was so smooth and silky, I could easily eat more than just one. Jane-Anne is one of our veteran bloggers and someone I really aspire to. Jane-Anne has had quite a few of her recipes published this year, so I reckon we will hear a whole lot more of her in 2012.

Rainbow Cooking’s Chocolate-filled Shortbread

Alida Ryder from Simply Delicious  featured next and I think she made one of her most popular dishes, Liguini with garlic and Mushrooms. Alida or Ally as we know her, has had a most fantastic year, not only did her Chocolate Cake win the Sarie Chocolate Cake Competition and appeared on the front cover of  this popular Afrikaans Magazine, but she has just handed in the manuscript to her first book and it will be on the shelves in the latter half of 2012. Well done Ally.

Colleen Grove or Colly Wolly as she is known amongst the bloggers from Browniegirlblog is not only the Blogmama of many and the organizer of the annual Foodbloggers Indaba, but she is also a formidable cook and a super-gran.  Colleen’s Gluten-free Chocolate Cake took the world by storm and from all the emails I received, I just realized how many people live with allergies of some sort. 

Robyn from the blog, Koek, is a journalist by profession so she started her blog as a self-indulgent platform to share her preoccupation with food(her words). She shared a deliciously light recipe with us, Pasta with lemon, ricotta and fresh garden peas. It was indeed delicious!

Cooking Foody’s Asparagus and Parma Ham Gratin

The first male to feature in our RSG slot was Wynand or better known as the Kitchenboy in Taiwan. What a delight it was to meet this talented young man. Judged by his outgoing and friendly nature, I think the children in his classroom must have such a great time.(he teaches English in Taiwan) Wynand made Cookies and Cream Truffles and boy oh boy,  the RSG listeners went crazy. Everyone wanted this recipe!
Rose from Homemade Heaven baked some Lemon Shortbread and I have to say, I haven’t had something that addictive since this recipe featured. I think it best if I keep this for high days and holidays. 
Cindy form The Only Cin sent me a recipe for Mother’s Day Trifle and it was such an easy recipe that I left it on the kitchen cupboard the night before Valentine’s in the hope that hubs and the children would make it for me for Mother’s Day!
Fritz Brand was the second male participant in the program and I just love his blog Real Men Can Cook. I love his no-nonsense approach to food and he has a heart of gold. This year he hosted a Project Steak Braai in aid of  the We Feed Back campaign and they managed to raise over R5000 for this worthy cause which is enough to feed 2752 hungry children. Fritz shared his easy recipe for Mielietert or Mealie Tart and again it was a no-nonsense yet delicious addition to any braai.

 Browniegirl’s Death by Chocolate Cake

Matt Allison, is any wife’s dream! Not only is he an urban farmer, a sound engineer, a closet designer and a blogger, but he is also a good cook and a stay-at-home-dad. Matt has featured in many magazines this year and all I can say is..watch this space! Do try his Pork and Broccoli Stir Fry.
I had the honor of featuring a recipe from the illustrious Anne Meyers from I love Cooking on my show and have since met her in person. Wow, what an icon this lady is. Anne has published more recipe books than years I have lived and if you just look at her website, you will see how talented and professional she is. What a privilege to know you Anne! Anne’s recipe that featured on RSG was Smokey ribs with honey and oyster sauce. Perfect for the braai season! 
One fine day, I got the idea to get the bloggers to come and make their dishes here in My Easy Cooking HQ and that brought a whole new dimension to this program and we had many hours of laughter, cooking, styling and photographing dishes. These bloggers not only featured on RSG, but a post was dedicated to each one of them. Here they are.

Ingredients for Candice’ Caramel Croissant pudding

Kristy from The Food Monger and her Mexican Bean Crumble – Kristy auditioned for the SA Masterchef Competition.
– Jeanne from Cooksister and her Pork Fillet stuffed with Pear and Sage. Jeanne needs no introduction and she is one of the brains behind the most successful Plate2Page workshops.
Candice from The Gorgeous Gourmet and her Caramel Croissant Pudding(utterly decadent) – she too auditioned for the SA Masterchef Competition.
– Sue from Sous Chef with her Sticky Chicken
Leaine from Leaine’s Kitchen and her Coconut Chocolate Ice Cream.  
– Chef Caro with her 4 minute Microwave Cheesecake –  I must have had 100’s of emails about this cheesecake. I am happy to report that Caro is moving to CT permanently to pursue her career as a chef.
Jan Tripepe and her Fetuccini Alfredo although her Uvo Batuto made far more waves…… Without a doubt the readers choice!
Sarah from A Foodie Lives Here with her Gnocchi with Bacon and Gorgonzola. Sarah’s book will also be on the shelves soon….and here is the good part, I am in it!!
Lisa from Marmite on Toast and her Asparagus and Gruyere Tart. Wow, what a refreshing surprise it was to find this blog!
Jaco and Marietjie from Rainbow Cooking and there Chocolate-filled Shortbread. Also a crowd pleaser!
Sam from Drizzle and Dip and her Beetroot and Barley Risotto – All the vegetarians went for this recipe. Sam is a food stylist of note and if you want proof of the quality of her work, please visit her site, Drizzle and Dip!
– Christie-Anne from CookingFoody and her Fresh Asparagus and Parma Ham gratin with Balsamic Plums.
This young lady has just auditioned for the SA Masterchef Competition and is in the top 40 that went through in Gauteng. We are holding thumbs for you! Her recipe also featured in the Woolworths Taste Magazine.  
Robyn from Chocswirl who is a pastry chef, made the most beautiful Pineapple Tarte Tatins in my kitchen. I learned such a lot about precision from her.
Caylee from Love Bites and here Chicken and Mango Salad was our last featured recipe for 2012. Lovely, fresh flavors! 


Although this is not my last post for 2011, there are still a few more Christmas Recipes I would love to feature, but I want to take this opportunity to thank each and every blogger who were willing to share their recipes with me and the RSG listeners. I am so grateful and proud to be associated with you in such a small way. Thank you, thank you!!