Italian Meatball Sub and other man stuff!

If you research the word “Sub” on the Internet, you get answers such as submarine, subscription, substitute, but the two explanations that I caught my attention were “sub”, referring to sub-woofer and “sub” referring to submarine sandwich. Now, although I am moving on in years and my taste in music and fashion horrifies my children most of the time, I did marry a man significantly younger than myself and there was a time when our the age gap was quite evident.
Yes, believe it or not, there was a time when my husband bought cars based on the size of their trunks, not because he had warm fuzzy feelings about family and baby luggage, but because it had to have enough space for the “SUB”, the woofer…..the NOISE!! Not only did his taste in music test my patience, but the noise level was above my threshold! Gladly that phase is long gone and only now and then when he had a tough day at work, I would get in his truck, turn the CD player on, only to be almost blown out of my seat with “Eighteen till I die!” God bless you honey, I hope you stay young, always!

The other “sub” story has something to do with food(yes, I know you have been wondering!). You see, when I met my husband, his culinary highlights pretty much depended on what the colonel had to offer or whether he had money for a packet of “Assorted Biscuits” to have with his tea.  I remember the first Sunday after we got married, I got up at the crack of dawn to cook my hubs his first proper Sunday Roast. At about 8 o’clock he woke up. “Why is the whole house stinking of food?” Deflated does not begin to describe my emotions at the time, but let’s just leave it at that. I started packing lunches for him and with my eager innocence, I thought the amount of layers I could pack on one sandwich would reflect the intensity of my love for him, until one day he could not keep it in any longer! “Honey, can I please just have jam on my bread? JUST JAM, PLEASE!!” It was then that he told me how he struggles to eat while he drives while egg yolk, tomato juice and pieces of cheese were dripping on his lap, especially when he was on his way to a client. Not cool!  So submarine or sub sandwiches never made it to his lunchbox again, but were restricted to eating at home.
A sub or a submarine sandwich is a sandwich made with French or Italian bread, sliced open and stuffed with just about anything you wish. The idea is that is must be huge and therefore it is…well, man food!

This week I had to cook and style so many recipes, that frankly, when it came to dinner time, I was all “cooked out!” I had a few meatballs left form a shoot and was wondering how I could change them into a filling meal for 4. I could make a …….sub! The thoughts stared forming….meatballs, tomatoes, spaghetti….no, no spaghetti….ok, that’s it, I will make an Italian Meatball Sub. Quick, quick!

Italian Meatball Sub

Serves 4
Ingredients
4 Italian rolls of mini ciabattas
1 cup tomato tomato pizza sauce – make your own
500gr good quality beef sausage – meat removed from casings
2 cups mozzarella – grated
dry oregano
salt/pepper
fresh rocket

Make little meatballs(you need 16) from the meat that you have taken from the casings and fry them in a pan, until they are cooked. I did mine in the Phillips Air Fryer. Slice the ciabatta open and spread some of the pizza sauce on the one half. Scatter enough grated mozzarella on tomato covered ciabattas. Sprinkle some oregano and pepper on top of the cheese. Place about 4 – 6  meatballs on top of the cheese and place under the grill in your oven and grill until the cheese has melted and are bubbling. Serve with fresh rocket and more pizza sauce of you have.

Cooks notes: I have to say these subs are huge, it is man food, my children shared one and still couldn’t finish it. So next time hubs invite some friends over for a game, give them man food! It is quite SUB-stantial (sorry couldn’t resist!)

More Man Food
