Potato Latkes with Bacon and Guacamole

Potato latkes, potato fritters, potato pancakes……what’s in a name? In the end, what matters is that the key ingredient is potatoes and I think I might have told you before……I LOVE POTATOES! I love it in any form, shape or size…..
I can rarely imagine a Sunday roast without roast potatoes on the side or what would our family BBQ be without the trusted old potato salad. Let’s not forget my absolute weakness, mashed potatoes. Soft, fluffy, lump-free with a subtle hint of freshly grated nutmeg and a generous knob of butter enough to put me in a state of total potato Nirvana. What is your favorite way of eating potatoes? Cooked, fried, boiled, mashed, sliced….let me know, maybe you can put a link to your favorite potato dish in the comments below and we share a little, making the potato circle bigger, bigger…….

While mashed potatoes make my knees wobble, the potato recipe that makes my children move to the kitchen at the speed of lightning is potato latkes or fritters. In principle, latkes and fritters are exactly the same thing( at least in some countries they are), latkes form part of the Jewish culinary tradition while fritters are normally any kind of food coated in batter and deep fried. 



This recipe for Potato Latkes with Bacon and Guacamole is lazy, laid-back Saturday or Sunday food. You can hardly call “Boiling a potato” or “frying some bacon” work and if you are lucky enough to have an AirFryer, you can do both in under 10 minutes.  You can even boil your potatoes in advance and keep them in the refrigerator until needed.I really do hope that you will try this dish on Saturday morning. It is a fresh new idea for a breakfast and this simple dish delivers on all the important  elements, crunchy, soft, fluffy, warm and spicy.

Potato Latkes with Bacon and Guacamole

12 small potatoes – boiled in the skin
1-2 tablespoons flour
1 egg
2 spring onions
2 tablespoons chopped parsley
salt pepper

Peel the boiled potatoes and mash fine with a fork or use a potato ricer. Add all the other ingredients and mix through. Form a small patties and fry in shallow oil until they are all cooked and golden brown. Serve with fresh rocket, crispy bacon and a good dollop of spicy guacamole! Enjoy!



More of my favorite potato dishes


 

