A fragrant Coffee Rub – Get in the mood for National Braai Day

It is National Braai Day again and it is hard to believe that a year has gone by since I posted this. With the 2011 RWC well underway, South Africans are literally spending every waking hour either in front of the telly or next to a crackling fire with a pair of braai tongs in their hands
Yes and with our two wins on the rugby field so far, we have reason to celebrate and when South Africans celebrate the fires are lit and the hunks and chunks of meat are taken from the  fridge.  To collaborate with national Braai Day, I took a very special guest along to my weekly RSG radio talk this morning.
Ally Straghan is the Best Female Barista in South Africa and I was lucky enough to have her on my show this morning. We tapped her brain for two recipes that include coffee as one of the ingredients and wow, was I surprised with what she came up. Ally is so passionate and  knowledgeable about coffee and it was such a pleasure to learn from her. I twisted her arm to take a few bloggers on one of her courses and she agreed, so I think early 2012, we are going to take her up on the offer!

Fragrant Coffee Rub for Meat

Ingredients
1/4 cup finely ground coffee
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 tablespoons  garlic salt
2 tablespoons paprika
1 teaspoon good quality cocoa

Mix all the dry ingredients. Rub your fillet, rump of even lamb chops with a little olive oil and then roll it in the dry rub. Allow to rest for at least 30 minutes and then braai as normal.

More Coffee recipes
