Problems with allergies? – Leaine’s Kitchen will help out.

There are so many people with food allergies. I think with all the additives and preservatives we consume these days, a whole lot more people are suffering from some kind of allergy than in the old days. In the short while since I have been doing the radio shows on Thursdays,

I have received thousands of emails and messages from people desperately looking for recipes that are wheat-free, sugar-free, dairy-free or egg-free. Tough order, but someone has to do it!

Luckily for me, my fingers do the clicking all day long and  a while back I stumbled across Leaine’s Blog, Leaine’s Kitchen and she was the answer to many of my allergy related questions and I am sure you will find her site helpful too.

Here’s Leaine’s Story
My blog is dedicated to my recent change in eating habits; in October 2009,I was diagnosed with type 3 food allergies to garlic, yeast, dairy, gluten and eggs and most of my recipes avoid these ingredients. My blog is also largely based on my own experiences – I love to write about cookbooks and edit recipes to make them allergy free, as well as about new places and restaurants that I have visited and unusual ingredients that make eating with food allergies a whole lot more yummy! My blog is about my journey of self discovery and the rebirth of my passion for food. The main focus is on flavour – just because I have to eliminate certain ingredients from my diet, it in no way means that I have to eliminate the taste! I get such pleasure in pushing boundaries and coming up with fantastic flavour combinations. My friends are my guinea pigs –I love cooking for them and seeing their reactions. My food is for everyone, not just people who have food intolerances.
Leaine’s recipes and knowledge regarding allergies are definitely in demand, judging by the wonderful feedback she has already received.
I have just been onto your blog and my mouth is watering. My colleague Dr Botha and myself are blown-away by the blog and we will be sending patients to it frequently. It looks like a lot of hard work and passion has been put into the website as well as into the food! Congratulations! Dr Davidson (Homeopath)
– … congratulations on taking control of your health. Your experiences and knowledge is something we definitely need to share with more people. I went onto your website and it is full of great information. If you would like to write an article on type III allergies I will put onto our site. Matthew Ballenden (Fresh Earth)
Every Thursday morning just after 9 on RSG, I visit a different South African foodblog. This week, the spotlight will be Leaine’s blog and today she visited My Easy Cooking HQ and we made some divine Chocolate ice-cream, perfect for Spring and Summer that are lurking around the corner.  It is hard to imagine that this ice-cream with its creamy consistency is egg-free, dairy-free and wheat-free. Amazing stuff.
Coconut Chocolate Ice Cream
(Makes about half a litre)
Ingredients:

500ml Full Fat Coconut Milk
1 x 100gr Lindt Chocolate
1 – 2 tsp Vanilla Extract or 1 Vanilla Pod with seeds removed and used
1/2 Cup Sugar/ Fructose/ Xylitol (sugar alternatives)
2 tsp Good Quality Cocoa such as NoMU

Optional Extras: Pecan Nuts/ Walnuts/ Fresh Mint/ Orange Extract or Rind
As a chocolate alternative try using the Woolworths Organic Dark Chocolate and Orange

Method:
  • Combine all ingredients in a pot on the stove
  • Slowly heat, while stirring, until the chocolate has melted
  • Bring mixture to a gentle boil for about 20 minutes
  • Add any extras at this point and stir to combine
  • Transfer to a freezer container
  • Freeze for a minimum of 2 hours

Tune into RSG 100-104fm tomorrow morning, just after 9am, to listen to Nina.


