Oatmeal and Almond Strawberry Crumble

The arrival of fresh strawberries on our market shelves was quite a welcoming site and with this Oatmeal and Almond Strawberry Crumble I wanted to celebrate the departure of winter and  the arrival of the most beautiful season of all….Spring. Look, I think we here in Cape Town are still in for some very cold weather, but I smell Spring in the air!
The punnets of strawberries have been on the shelves for some time now, but I couldn’t get myself to buy them just yet. In my kitchen it is still pretty much winter with Beef or Chicken Pies, Roast Chicken Pasta bake, Thai Green Curry and easy Tomato and Lentil Soup. I do catch myself making “lighter” food every now and then, so I guess my system is telling me, Spring is here so when I walked passed the Strawberries again on Friday, I couldn’t resist. At home, I could not get my mind around making Strawberry and Basil Sorbet or even a Strawberry Semi-fredo, instead I felt like a a rustic, flavorsome crumble.

Don’t we all just love a crumble? Don’t ask me why, I just know, if I cover any humble fruit or vegetable in a layer of crumbs I have a sure winner.  I love the versatility of a crumble and the ease of presenting a dessert that is packed with flavor and goodness.  Do try my Apple and Coconut Crumble  or if you have an abundance of stone fruits, my Peach and Plum Crumble, I think you will like them!
For now however, I want to share this easy, delightful Oatmeal and Almond Strawberry Crumble!

Oatmeal and Almond Strawberry Crumble.
makes 6 individual or 1 big dessert

Ingredients
1 kg fresh strawberries – hulled and halved
3/4 cup sugar
zest of 1 orange
½ cup of orange juice
1 tbsp cornflour or Mazeina

For the crumble

3/4 cup flour
½ cup of brown sugar
pinch of salt
1 cup oatmeal or oats
125gr almond slivers
125 gr cold butter

Mix the sliced strawberries with the sugar, cornflour, orange zest and orange juice. Place in individual cups or ramekins and make your crumble. Preheat the oven to 180C.
For the crumble mix all the dry ingredients and grate in the cold butter. Mix thoroughly and sprinkle lavishly over the strawberry mixture. Bake for about 40 minutes or until the strawberry mixture is cooked and is bubbling out from underneath the crumble and the crumble is golden brown in color.
Serve with a good drizzle of thick cream or creamy vanilla ice-cream.

 More Inspiring Crumbles



