Churros.The quintessential Spanish street snack with DieselVanilla Sauce

I think every picture I have ever seen of this delightful Spanish snack called Churros has made me want to get up, walk to the kitchen and bake them. Strangely though, I have always thought they were too difficult and finicky to make, but put a foodie under pressure and you will be surprised……
I was eagerly awaiting Woman’s Day, not for any particular reason, but because I needed a well-deserved break after quite an eventful weekend. On Saturday I had a cooking demo for 100 ladies at an event to raise funds for the Sunflower Fund and somehow Sunday and Monday were not easy-going either, so this morning I woke up, looking forward to a day of pottering around the house,spoiling the family for a change and at 11 o’clock, hubby walks in, announcing that an old school friend and family are coming for lunch and they will be at our house at 1 o’clock. No pressure!

With Mustard chicken in the oven, rice cooking and side salad in the fridge, I thought heck, I have this sorted in no time, maybe I could sit down for a while….and then it hit me….Dessert!
I opened the pantry cupboard and found……exactly 1 cup of flour! This cancelled out Sticky Toffee pudding, self-saucing Chocolate pudding, Steamed Treacle pudding and even Malva Pudding……darn it!
Then I remembered Churros! How could I forget, after all the image of golden brown crusty churros dipped in dark chocolate is not easy to forget! To my amazement, they were not at all difficult to make!
For the un-informed, a churro is the Spanish equivalent of a doughnut and there are two types of churros in Spain. One is thin and shaped like a knot and the other is long and thick and called a “porra”. Churros are normally eaten for breakfast dipped in hot chocolate( maybe it is this idea that got my attention in the first place!) Street vendors in Spain and Mexico fry them freshly on the street and sell them hot.
Churros are deep-fried until they turn crunchy, and are then sprinkled with sugar. A churro is ridged because it has been piped from a churrera, which is a syringe with a star-shaped nozzle.

 Churros with Dark Chocolate
enough for 6 people

Ingredients
1 cup water
½ cup butter
1 cup flour
pinch of salt
3 eggs
oil for frying

Method
Melt the water and butter in a pot and once the butter has melted, add all the flour at once. Stir and cook for about 1 minute or until the dough comes together in a ball. Transfer to your mixer and add eggs one at a time. At first it will look all curdly and wrong, but keep on beating until you have a smooth, thick batter. Spoon the batter in a piping bag with a thin star shaped nozzle.( my nozzle was too big, hence the  plump-sized churros). Heat the oil in a deep pan and squeeze the batter into the hot oil, using a sharp knife to cut in desired lengths. Turn the churros once and use a slotted spoon to remove it from the oil once it is done. Serve immediately with generous dustings of cinnamon sugar and a dark chocolate dipping sauce.

Dark chocolate dipping sauce

1 x 100gr dark chocolate( I used Lindt)
250ml cream

Melt the cream and chocolate together in a bowl over a pot of hot water until it is creamy and delicious. Serve with the piping hot churros.

 The highlight of the lunch however was not my food, nor the delicious churros, but the accompanying music. Our guests were none other than the uber-talented duo DieselVanilla ( also known as Digby and Roochi to their friends) and if you have never heard of them, make a mental note now, because that is about to change. This vocal group is off to New York in September to record their debut album and I predict it is going to be a hit. They are selling CD’s to fund their trip so if you want to get your copy of this limited edition and while they are still cheap, give them a shout on Facebook or Twitter and I am sure they will be eager to assist!They will be performing live in Port Elizabeth at the Operahouse Barnyard on 12 August. See details on their Facebook page!

