Steamed Treacle Pudding – My first attempt!

Steamed treacle pudding was on my to-do-list for this winter. I have been intrigued by steamed puddings since I watched my gran skilfully cover the glass bowl, with our Christmas Penny pudding inside, to submerge it into the pot of boiling water on the stove. I marveled at her patience to wait for two long hours, sometimes more and I rejoiced with her when she opened the bowl and……
out comes this beautiful, soft and moist pudding. I don’t know why I haven’t tried it before, it could be laziness, it could be the sickness of our time, wanting things to be fast and immediate, but somehow I think it is the fear of not being in control for two long hours. The fear of letting go, knowing I have done my best with choosing the best  ingredients, followed the mixing instructions to the tee, but now I have to let it go.
I think there is a life lesson in all of this….. sometimes we do the possible, but we find it very difficult to let God do what he does best….do the impossible. My advice to you is……bake a steamed pudding. Teach yourself the art of waiting upon something good, trust me life’s just like that and so is this Steamed Treacle Pudding…………GOOD!

My gran lived to be 97 years old, my dad and mom are well on their way to at least equal that age and I think it is because they live/lived their lives by this principal….
Do your best, just for today! Do the possible , but leave the impossible things…..and make lots of steamed puddings!
There has been a lot of talk about, one of my favorite chefs, Nigel Slater on Twitter and Facebook lately. His straightforward, down-to-earth cooking style is something I can related and aspire to and his unpretentious way of paring simple ingredients to make simple, yet downright delicious food, works for me every time! There has also been a lot of controversy about bloggers lifting recipes from books and other sites, so in fear of  lifting one of Nigel’s recipes, I decided to use my own trusted old Victorian Sponge Cake recipe and turn it into a Steamed Treacle Pudding. For those of you who do not know, a Victorian Sponge has equal quantities of butter, sugar and flour, which makes it a very good recipe for doubling or halving. Her goes…
Before we start, he is what you will need:

Equipment
a glass bowl – about 1.2liters in capacity
a big pot of boiling water
string
2 sheets of foil to cover the glass bowl.

Steamed Treacle Pudding

Ingredients

3 tbsp golden syrup + 1 tbsp golden syrup

200gr self raising flour
200gr soft butter
200gr soft treacle or brown sugar
4 eggs
2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
zest of a lemon – optional, but it is delicious.

Method
Butter the glass bowl and pour the 3 tbsp of golden syrup in the bottom of the bowl. Now place all the other ingredients in your mixer and beat for about 2 minutes or until the mixture has blended well. Spoon the batter into the glass bowl.(on top of the golden syrup). Cover with the two layers of foil and secure tightly with the string. It is important that NO water can get to the pudding during the steaming process. Place the glass bowl into the pot of boiling water so that the water comes up to about 3/4 of the bowl. Place the lid of the pot on and allow to steam for 2 hours. Go read a book, but check from time to time to see if the water level is still ok. If not, fill up with BOILING WATER.

When the two hours are over, take the bowl from the pot, remove the foil, loosen the sides with a knife and invert it onto a warm plate. Serve with more golden syrup and thick creamy custard.

Please do not forget to enter the Weylandts Competition HERE. You really do want to try out this fine dining  experience.

