Chicken bake with Sun-Dried Tomato Scones

This Chicken Bake with Sun-dried Tomato Scones was (dare I say) one of the most amazing meals I have made in a long time. Don’t you just love it when kitchen magic happens? Those rare times when the planets line up and something really un-expecting happens in your kitchen.
When simple ingredients come together so unplanned and unrehearsed, yet when you taste the meal, it seems just so right…..
as if these ingredients were meant to be together and why has no one ever thought about it….(or maybe they have, who knows?)
As I wrote earlier, I tasted these sun-dried tomato scones when Charlene Pretorius made them for us at the Weylandt, The Kitchen, launch. She made these really dainty little scones with a quenelle of olive butter on top. The scones were so cheesy and packed with flavor that I knew then and there that I will have to make them in my kitchen, at least my version of them. When I asked Charlene about these scones on another visit, she told me the recipe was developed by Abigail Donnely, which came as no surprise to me. She did not part with the recipe, but she gave me some tips on how to deal with the sun-dried tomatoes, because my first batch flopped so horribly.
Here is the tricky part. My son is about the only on in my family who raves about scones. He loves the whole ritual of spreading lashes of butter jam and heaps of cream on himself. To confront them with a savory scone, topped with olive butter would be considered….well, a bad idea.( from their perspective!) I was intend on making the scones so I had to make a plan…….and a quick one too.
I had chicken, I had tomatoes and I had olives, all elements of the scones I wanted to make…..why not combine it all into one family-size Chicken Bake……..Eureka, I had a plan…..but not a recipe, oh dear!
I had to improvise and use my standard scone recipe with a few of my own savory tweaks..

Chicken Bake with Sun-dried Tomato Scones
feeds 8 hungry people

Ingredients
16 pieces of organic chicken – a variety of breasts, thighs, drumsticks and wings
salt/pepper
500 gr cocktail tomatoes
250 gr black calamata olives
fresh rosemary or oregano
olive oil
about 1 tbsp of flour or Ina Paarman’s Gravy powder

Sun-dried Tomato Scones 

Ingredients
2 flour
½ tsp salt
3 tsp baking powder
60 ml cold butter
1 egg
½ cup buttermilk
50ml water
100gr sun-dried tomatoes – re-hydrated in water
3 tbsp chopped chives
3 tbsp grated Parmesan

Method

Season the chicken with salt and pepper or your favorite chicken spice. Place in a big oven dish. Scatter the olives, herbs and tomatoes over the top and bake for about 40 minutes or until the chicken is cooked. Mix the flour or gravy powder with a little water and pour in between the chicken pieces. Stir and allow the chicken juices to thicken.  In the meantime, make the scones.
Squeeze all the water from the tomatoes and chop really finely.  Sieve flour, salt and baking powder together.Add the chives, Parmesan and tomatoes. Grate butter into flour and rub with fingers until the mixture resembles fine crumbs. Beat the egg and buttermilk together and mix into the flour mixture. Do not over mix! Gently pat the dough until it is about 5cm thick. Use a scone cutter and cut about 10 scones. Brush with a little egg wash and keep ready.
When the chicken is almost done, place the scones in between and on the chicken pieces. Place back in the oven and bake for about 12-15 minutes until the chicken is gold brown and crispy and the scones are fully risen and brown on top. While baking, the scones suck up some of the chicken gravy, utterly delicious! Place the oven dish in the middle of the table and watch  the family fight over the last bit of gravy. Make sure you have lots of napkins ready for all the greasy and sticky fingers.

Don’t forget the enter for the GIVE_AWAY on my previous post. You really do not want to miss out on that opportunity.

