Spicy Sausage with Horseradish Mash , Apple and Onion

Doing two posts in a row using sausage? You must think I’ve lost the plot or my ability to think up new recipes, but I can assure you that I haven’t. The overwhelming response to my two radio shows today as well as my previous post, Sausage or Boerewors, both perfect for soup,
leave me with no choice but to do another sausage post. Strangers emailed me to tell me that they look at sausage in a whole different light. Hard to imagine, I just took it for granted that everyone knows how versatile sausage can be………
Sausage and Mash  – a meal that features quite often in our household, but I try to give it a different twist every time. Sometimes it is straight forward Bangers and Mash, sometimes I make a tomato base sauce to serve with the mash, but this time I wanted to feature a piece of fresh horseradish that I picked up at our local grocery store.  The  packet of sausages from Rudi’s Sausage Deli that I also used for my previous post, was perfect for the recipe I had in mind.he sausage. The sausages are so spicy that I thought it needed strong flavors to carry them. What better way to up the flavor in mashed potatoes than to add some grated horseradish.to it! I needed a mild sweetness to counteract all this spice and the apple and sweet onion relish worked really well.  So here goes!!!

  

Spicy Sausage with Horseradish Mash , Apple and Onion 

Ingredients

8 spicy sausages from Rudi’s Sausage Deli
a little cooking oil
2 large onions – sliced
2 apples – peeled and sliced
fresh Thyme
salt/pepper
sugar

For the Mash

5 large potatoes
3tbs melted butter
a little milk
2 tbsp grated horseradish

Heat the oil in a skillet and fry the sausages until golden brown on all sides. Keep aside. In the same pan, fry the onions  in a little oil and after about 2 minutes, add the apple slices. Gently move the onions and apple about in the pan. When ready to serve, season with salt,pepper and sugar. Return the sausages to the pan and heat through. Serve on the mash.


For the mash

Make normal mashed potato and add two tbsp grated horseradish  to  the mixture.

 Don’t forget to enter for the grand prixe on my blog. Simply leave a comment with your answer – I hope  you will all enter!

