Sausage or Boerewors – both perfect for soup. Also a fantastic Give-away!

I am a sausage snob! There, I’ve said it! I take buying and eating sausage or boerewors as we call it in this part of the woods, seriously. I have tasted and eaten my way through many so called “Champion” Sausages, that I can tell a good one from a really horrible one.
I can take up a whole post, writing about really bad sausage, what they look and taste like, but I would  be wasting my time. I prefer to tell you what a really good sausage or boerewors should be like:

 A really good sausage, to me, must:

– not be to thick
– be coarse in texture
– have no additives, just pure meat and some fat
– have a spicy, aromatic flavor
– have a definite farm style flavor with some coriander

The good news is, that I have found many good sausages on my travels, but it us crucial that you ask the butcher or farmer what is in the sausages before you buy it. The reward  for all your efforts, is just so worth it! Few things can beat a good old fashioned  South African Boerewors Roll, but I have also used my sausage in Patatas Bravas, Bangers and Mash, Paella and what will a barbeque or braai be without a good sausage on the grid!
Last week, I popped in at Oded’s Kitchen and came across a packet of sausages from Rudi’s Sausage Deli and what a surprise to see that these guys are as passionate about a good sausage as I am. None of the ingredients or spices used in the manufacture of these sausages contains any preservatives or M.S.G. No additives to create bulk like Soy, Rusk or potato starch is used and Rudi’s prides itself on the 100% meat content of the sausages. All the spices are hand mixed and only home grown herbs are used. No pre-packed sausage spice packs are used. Rudi’s uses different wines, spicy traditional wines, ports and vinegars to add flavour and act as a preservative in the sausage. Some of the recipes require the sausages to be smoked. These are smoked in a large smoker using Apple or Oak Wine vat shavings, thereby lending their own flavour to the sausages. Sausages that need to be cured, such as German Salami or Chorizo sausages, are placed in a large temperature and humidity controlled cellar under the butchery. There they can cure from 1 week to up to 6 months. 
 I made a delicious meal of these sausages with mash and a chunky onion and apple relish(post to follow soon).  The remainder of the sausages I used in a tomato and lentil soup and boy, oh boy, it was so delicious that even my children asked for more!



Tomato and Lentil Soup with Spicy Meatballs 

Ingredients
500gr sausage 
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp smoked paprika
2 tins of red lentils – rinsed
2 tins of canned cherry tomatoes
1 small sachet tomato paste
1 medium onion – chopped
1-2 cloves garlic – crushed
fresh basil or parsley
salt and pepper
about 2 tsp sugar.
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
more fresh basil or parsley for garnishing
creme fraiche or yogurt(optional)\

Method
Take the sausage meat out of the casings and form into small meatballs. Heat the olive oil in a heavy based pot and fry the meatballs until they are golden brown. Remove from the pot and keep one side. In the same sausage flavored oil, add the paprika and saute the onion and garlic. When the onion is soft and translucent, add all the ingredients except the creme fraiche and some of the fresh herbs. Bring to the boil and add the meatballs. Turn the heat right down and allow the soup to simmer and for  the sausage flavors to infuse all the other ingredients. When ready to serve, drizzle some creme fraiche  over the top and sprinkle with the fresh herbs. Serve with a crusty farm loaf!


And now for the Give-Away……..



With all the long weekends we have had, it is rather difficult to get into the routine of a 5 day work week, I think it is time for another weekend and what better place to spend it in than in the beautiful Garden Route town, Knysna! I want to send one lucky visitor to my site and a friend or partner  to the Graywood Hotel in Knysna.  There the two of you can stay in the lap of luxury, lounging around the pool or explore all the interesting markets, shops and sights the Garden Route has to offer. Sounds like fun, doesn’t it? 

How to enter?

Simply answer this easy question by leaving a comment on my site and you could be the lucky winner. The answer to the question, can be found here!

Question:

How many rooms does the Graywood Hotel have?






