Chocolate – Cupcakes in two delectable ways – Amarula and Caramel!

Imagine this! Chocolate cupcakes, half of them drenched with Amarula Liqueur and the other half made with  a caramel centre! I don’t know about you, but it sounds like chocolate Nirvana to me!
The cupcakes are already dense and moist, but with the different fillings, they become something  truly out-of-this-world. Although cupcakes are normally associated with children, the Amarula cupcakes in particular are my adult version of this beloved confectionery…..
My children have been away for the holidays and although apparently “hear” how sad they are when I call them twice(sometimes 3 times) everyday, I am sure they are having a great time. I am grateful for the time hubs and I had to work, chat and work some more, but today my babies are coming home and I am one happy mommy! To welcome them back, I decided to bake some cupcakes, but ordinary cupcakes it could never be….I missed them too much. So while driving to various meetings yesterday, I started a mind map  with chocolate being the centre of my mind map. What flavours with work with chocolate………coffee, vanilla, salt, caramel, Amarula, orange, berries, brandy and so the list went on and on. In the back of my mind, however, I had to remember who these cupcakes were for so when I finally made my choice it was based on my children(they love caramel) and hubby,who would not mind a hint of coffee in an Amarula drenched cupcake!

The cupcake recipe is just the easiest recipe to follow and yields 24 cupcakes! Yip, there is enough love to go around!! It is important however that you read through the whole recipe before you start!

Chocolate – Cupcakes

Yields 24

Ingredients 
3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
3 heaped tbsp good quality cocoa
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
4 tsp baking powder
a pinch of salt

2 cups boiling water
1 cup cooking oil
1/3 cup white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract

 

Preheat oven to 180 C. Place cupcake wrappers in 12 muffin pans. Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl. Mix the wet ingredients in a glass jug and add the the dry ingredients. Mix and spoon into the cupcake wrappers.  Bake for 20 minutes.

Chocolate and Espresso Buttercream frosting

¾ cup soft butter – must be at room temperature

3 cups icing sugar(powdered sugar or confectioner’s sugar)
1 espresso shot
a pinch of salt
¾ cups good quality cocoa powder

For a very fine end result, I sieve the icing sugar and cocoa to remove all lumpy bits there might be! Place the butter in your mixer and beat until the butter is light and fluffy. Add the icing sugar and cocoa mixture, a spoonful at a time, while still beating. If the mixture gets to dry, add a few drops of the espresso. (Please not all the espresso at once). Repeat the process until you have a rich and fluffy buttercream frosting.

To assemble the cupcakes

1 tin of Nestle Caramel or Dulce de Leche
1 shot of Amarula liqueur

Take a sharp knife and cut a small circle from 12 of the cupcakes. Place some of the caramel in a icing bag and fill the little “holes” that you have just made with caramel. Take a spoon and drizzle some of the Amarula liqueur over the other 12 cupcakes. Now you can go ahead and finish these cupcakes off with the Chocolate and Espresso Buttercream frosting. If you want to you can decorate with chocolate shavings, a sprinkling of Fleur de sel or enjoy just like that!

More cupcakes?


