Thai Green Curry with Pork dumplings

Thai Green Curry with Pork dumplings sounds like quite mouthful and that is exactly what it is…a scrumptious, packed-with-flavor-mouthful! Every time I make Thai food, the resounding response I get from my family is: “Mom, you should make this more often!”
Heaven only knows why I don’t make it more often, because it is just about the quickest and easiest food to prepare. Millions of people on the streets in Thailand cannot be wrong, can they?
Those of you who know me, will second that fact that I am quite a modest character and would much rather let the sun shine on someone else than on me, but sometimes, just sometimes, I have to pat myself on the back and say: “Damn girl, that was a might fine idea!” Making these little pork dumplings for my Thai Green Curry was a stroke of genius if I have to say so myself. I often(well, judged by my family, not often enough) make Thai Curries, and almost always use chicken or fish, sometimes I even stick to just vegetables, but  the idea to use pork has been mulling in my head for quite some time now. At first I thought of using pork tenderloin strips, but I walked past the pork mince in the shop the other day and “Eureka! I had an idea for a recipe!” I hope you like it as much as we did!

Thai Green Curry with Pork Dumplings
Serves 6 people

Ingredients

For the dumplings

500gr pork mince
a big handful of fresh coriander
1 egg
salt/white pepper

Place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix through. Shape the mince in small dumplings or meatballs(the size of a baby tomato). Keep aside.

For the Thai Green Curry

1 whole red pepper – sliced thinly
1 whole yellow pepper – sliced thinly
1 whole green pepper – sliced thinly
2-3 cloves of garlic – sliced
1 thumb size piece of ginger – peeled and sliced in thin strips
1-2 heaped tbsp of green curry paste
about 8 baby corns
1 punnet of mange tout or sugar snaps
1 tin coconut cream
1 tin(use the empty tin from the coconut cream) chicken stock – about 300ml
1-2 tbsp fish sauce
1 tbsp palm or brown sugar
fresh coriander
juice of 1 lime

Heat the coconut oil in your wok an add all the peppers, onion, garlic and ginger. Stir fry for about 1 minute, making sure the garlic does not burn. Add the green curry paste and stir fry for another 30 seconds. add the coconut milk and stock and stir through. Add  the corn, mange tout, sugar, fish sauce and pork dumplings and allow to simmer for about 10-15 minutes or until the pork dumplings are cooked. Taste and season accordingly.Add fresh coriander and a squeeze of lime and serve on fluffy Jasmin Rice.

Kapruka Organic Virgin Coconut Oil was one of the products I got in my bag at the FBI2011.

Do you feel like a trip to Thailand? Come on let’s go!
Most probably my favorite Thai recipe

