Trifle – Swoon over this Berry and White Chocolate Trifle!

Trifle is the only dessert that I will wake up for in the middle of the night. Everyone that knows me, knows that I’m a savory kinda girl! Trifle is a different story, however it is not a dessert I make often for various reasons. The first being that it is a little too tedious, but the real reason is this! 
My mother-in-law is the trifle maker in our family. I love her to bits so I know this will not offend her, but she has never aspired to be the world’s greatest cook. She has many other amazing talents, but cooking is not one of them. However, there are a few dishes that I would never cook in my house…..because of her!
Mac ‘n Cheese, roast potatoes and Trifle are her signature dishes and yes, she does make them really well. None of my efforts to cook any of these recipes for my husband measured up to her standards, so after a while I just stopped trying. But what  is a Sunday roast without roast potatoes, so I tried again and again and last Sunday my hubby said that they were better than his mom’s!(shhhhh, don’t tell her!).

That left Mac ‘n Cheese and Trifle! It is a tradition in our house that mom makes a trifle for Christmas Day lunch. In a glass bowl she would layer soft sponge cake drenched in cherry, jelly,custard,cream, fruit and nuts and finish it off with chocolate shavings. Delicious stuff! I will not even try to compete with that, but the craving for trifle was critical and Christmas is still around the corner. With all the fresh berries available right now, I thought of a trump card Trifle, one that is so different that I will never be accused of competing with my MIL! Did I pass the Trifle test? Judge for yourself, see if you can resist not making this delicious Berry and White Chocolate Trifle!

Berry and White Chocolate Trifle

servings – 6 small  individual portions

Ingredients

12 Boudoir or lady fingers Biscuits
500 ml bought custard – I used Woolworth’s
250 ml cream
100gr slab white chocolate
125 gr blue berries
400 gr strawberries – hulled and cut in smallish chunks
 medium cream sherry – I used a cap full per mini trifle
more white chocolate for decorating – optional

Break the chocolate into smaller pieces and place in a glass bowl over boiling water and allow to melt. In the meantime, beat the cream until it forms soft peaks. Once the chocolate has melted, fold it into the cream with  a spatula. Get your 6 glasses or small bowls ready and place two boudoir biscuits in each. Drizzle some sherry over the biscuits. Pour some custard in each glass followed by some fresh berries, Spoon some of the cream white chocolate mixture on top of the berries and repeat the layers ending with some white chocolate. Scatter a few berries on the top and finish off with a sprig of  mint and some chocolate shavings. Keep refrigerated  for at least 1 hour.

So, I guess this leaves me with Mac ‘n Cheese on my to-try list. Any ideas will be most welcome!

Cook’s notes

– perfect for entertaining because it can be made in advance
– use different kinds of fruit  such as passion fruit or peaches
– use dark chocolate and nuts for a totally different trifle experience
– please try my MIL’s Traditional Trifle recipe as well as some of my other delicious dessert  recipes with berries.

Traditional Trifle

Strawberry Coulis

Strawberry and Basil Ice cream

Cherry Clafoutis

