Apple Pie or Apple Galette – To me it means "Comfort"

I love making apple pie, to me it is just so comforting to first work the pastry and then fill the house with the warm cinnamoney aroma. It also says ” I CARE” with big letters when you present one of your tried and tested apple pie recipes around tea time.
I was in desperate need of some comfort during this last week and like so many of you, I find it in my kitchen plodding along, baking or making something delicious for those dear and near to my heart. Furthermore……
the buttery pastry all wrapped around the warm apples is like a big old hug, telling me, everything is going to be alright. As you all know by now, our little diva broke her ankle last Saturday at a school fair and  it has taken our family on quite a trip. The “wanting-to-make-it-better-but-can’t”, the total lack of sleep and the worry about the future implications of this leg has left me exhausted and very fragile at times. However, the support, love, care and comfort that I have received from friends, family and my “cyber-family” have left me speechless and totally overwhelmed at times. Imagine our surprise when we found this lovey “parcel” waiting for us on our return home from the hospital.(Pls note Teddy’s broken leg)

Tandy, Jeanne,Colly, Donald, Sigrid, Jessica, Marissa, Hila, Michael, Maddy, Jane-Ann and Nicola, you have no idea how much this meant to us! Thank you!  The support from my family, especially my sis, who  has cooked, played taxi, baby sitter, husband sitter and who has just been so unbelievable, I appreciate all your help more than you will ever know. My hubs, who not only worked harder than ever before,but also tried to keep my blog afloat while I was in hospital with Chlo, you are one of a kind and I love you!. Okay, I think I have covered all the thank yous. Let’s get back to the hug-me Apple Galette. I have never made a galette, but in my mind I have always thought that it epitomizes French cooking……….. quality ingredients, rustic and delicious. Well, this galette was all of that and more….

One of my favorite food bloggers is and has always been Helene from Tartelette.Every one of her posts are just so amazing. Her writing, food styling and photography leaves me speechless  every time. When she posted these Blackberry and Apple Galettes, I knew that I could no longer resist baking them myself.  This weekend my house was filled with family members, all coming together to try and make things better for me. What better way to say thank you than to bake this delicious Apple and Almond Galette. A big hug to all the wonderful people in my life…I love you all dearly!!!

Apple and Almond Galette

Makes 5 small or 1 big galette

For the Pate Sucree: (adapted from Tartelette)
2 cups (250gr) all purpose flour
3 tbsp sugar
120gr  butter, cut in small dices
1 egg
2-4 tbsp cold water

In a large bowl, combine the sugar, flour and salt. Cut the butter in small cubes and add to the flour. Rub with your fnger tips until it resembles small crumbs. Make a well in the middle and add the egg. With a fork, start working the flour and egg together, adding the water if needed. Form the pastry into a ball and wrap in cling film. Keep in the fridge until needed, but at least 30 minutes. 


For the Apple Filling


3 Golden delicious Apples – peeled and cut in slices
3 tbsp sugar
125ml toasted almond slivers
a pinch of salt
1 tbsp corn flour
100ml water
juice of a lemon 
1 egg – beaten for egg wash
a little extra sugar


Place the water, lemon juice, sugar and apples in a saucepan and cook the apples until they are tender but not mushy and fall-apart tender. Mix the cornflour with some water and stir it into the apples. Cook the apples until the corn flour becomes clear and is no longer cloudy. Cool the apples completely. 
Preheat oven to 180C
Take the pastry from the fridge and on a flour surface roll out the pastry to about 3-4mm thickness. Spoon the apples onto the pastry, allowing enough pastry to still fold over the apples. Sprinkle the toasted almonds over the top and fold the pastry over, leaving some of the fruit exposed.
Brush the pastry with egg wash and sprinkle with a little sugar. Bake for about 35-40 minutes in the preheated oven. Decoarate with slices of candied apple and whipped cream or ice-cream!

To make the candy apple chips

Put the sugar and water into a pot and slowly heat until the sugar
has melted. Cook until you have thin sugar syrup.
Slice the apple as thinly as you can, I use a mandolin.
Dip each apple slice into the sugar syrup and place on a baking
sheet that has been sprayed with nonstick spray. Bake in a moderate
oven (150C) until golden brown.

Other apple inspired recipes.

Apple Tarte Tatin with Chili Ice-cream

