Blueberry and Strawberry Polenta muffins – a delicious mouthful!

Do you know the Muffin man
The muffin man, the muffin man
Do you know the muffin man
Who lives on Drury Lane

Yes, I know the muffin man
The muffin man, the muffin man
Yes, I know the muffin man
Who lives on Drury Lane

This was the song that inspired me to bake my first batch of muffins or let me rephrase that, it was my children listening to that song day in and day out that inspired me to have a baking session with them. I don’t know if it is a good or a bad thing, but the pre-school lyrics were cast aside for the Jonas Brothers, Locherville and dare I say Miley Cirus. Although the melody of the Muffin Man has faded,  baking muffins  has  become an almost-weekly-activity. My son has a serious sweet tooth so his favorites obviously  are the Chocolate Muffins, Banana Muffins and the ever-so-popular Vanilla and Caramel Muffins. His sister however, is like her mommy, always opting for the savory muffins such as Bacon and Cheese or Spinach and Feta. Trying to remember who’s turn it is to chose a flavor can be quite challenging.  Finding new flavors all the time is an ongoing search.

My search came to a sudden halt when I saw these cupcakes on Meeta’s site. Oh my word, I was totally mesmerized looking at them, dreaming of biting into those moist fruity  muffins. As with many of Meeta’s recipes, this one also inspired me to play around with  different flavor combinations. My children are away on holiday, but I have no doubt in my mind that when they return, these muffins will be an all time hit. In the meantime, Dad and I have 12 muffins all to ourselves, YUM!

Blueberry, Strawberry and White Chocolate Polenta Muffins – yields 12

Ingredients

150gr self raising flour
80gr polenta
1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
140gr caster sugar
150gr butter – softened
3 extra large eggs
1 tbs buttermilk – normal milk will be fine too
zest of 1 lemon
60 gr white chocolate buttons – coarsely chopped
1 small punnet  strawberries – diced finely
1 small punnet of blueberries

Frosting

2 heaped tbsp icing sugar
juice and zest of 1-2 lemons

1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 C. Place your paper cases in a 12-hole muffin pan.

2. Cream the butter and sugar  and lemon zest in your mixer until it becomes pale and fluffy. Add the polenta and mix.

3. Add the eggs one by one, mixing after every addition.

4. Sift the flour, salt and baking powder and with your spoon or spatula, gently fold  the flour into the  egg and sugar mixture.

5. Add the milk and chocolate chips and give it one final mix.

6. Spoon the mixture into the paper cups and top each muffin with the diced strawberries and a few blue berries.

7. Bake for 20-25 minutes  until they are golden brown and slightly spongy to the touch. Allow to cool slightly.

8. In the meantime, mix the icing sugar and lemon juice until it is lumpfree and  drizzle a little over each muffin.

