Onion Bhaji – A delightful Indian Snack!

Onion Bahji has as many spellings as it has recipes. It varies from “bhajees” to “Bhajias” to what is accepted as the correct spelling “Bhajis”. When it comes to the recipe, it is a whole different story.Every full-blooded Indian swears by his/her recipe.
I have to admit that my knowledge of the Indian cuisine is not so good that I would know a good from a bad recipe, but I tasted these delightful snacks at a function the other night and I just had to find the parent who supplied this plate of eats to the school and then try to bribe her for the recipe…….
When I finally tracked the mommy down who brought these bhajis, she was quite pleased that I liked her snacks and was most eager to share the recipe with me. If one can call it a recipe… She told me with much delight that she uses a premix from Spice Mecca. Horror upon horror, how can it be true? Well the proof was definitely in the tasting. I ate bhaji after bhaji until my mouth was on fire. It was so darn tasty! So for the idiot version you need:

Onion Bhaji – Idiot version

1 packet Spice Mecca Bhaji Mix
250-300 ml water
about 4 onions
a handful fresh coriander – chopped

Slice the onions in thin rings and place in a bowl. Shake the bowl so that all the rings can come apart. In another bowl, combine the bhaji mix and the water and toss all the onion rings in the batter. Mix until all onion rings are coated with the batter. Follow the steps as for the recipe below.

Onion Bhaji – Indian version
1 cup Chick-Pea Flour or Gram Flour
1/2 tsp Chili Powder
1/2 tsp Turmeric
1 tsp Baking Powder
Salt
1 tsp Ground Cumin
4 Large Onions, halved and thinly sliced
25g / 1oz finely chopped Fresh Coriander
Cold water to mix
Vegetable oil for deep frying 
Sift the flour, chili, turmeric, cumin, baking powder and salt into a large mixing bowl. Add the water and mix well. Now add the chopped coriander and onions and mix well until all onion rings are coated with batter.

Preheat the deep fryer to 180ºC / 350ºF. Very carefully drop spoonfuls of the mixture into the hot oil and fry until the bhajis are golden brown and crispy. Drain on kitchen paper and serve while still piping hot.

Serve with Onion bhajis with plain yogurt mixed with chopped mint and a few drops of chili oil!

-Last few days to get  nominations in for the  2010 South African Blog Awards . Would you please be so kind as to click on the badge in my sidebar or the link above and nominate me in the category Best Food and Wine Blog. Only the blogs with the most nominations will be going through so I NEED YOUR NOMINATIONS! I promise a big piece of cake and a coffee next time you visit. When you click on the badge or the link, you will see that My-Easy-Cooking has been nominated already. All you have to do then is to just type in the security code and  your email address. You will then receive a confirmation email with a link in your mailbox. Please click on the link to finalize this process. Do not miss this last step, otherwise your vote is worth nothing, nadas!!!
For those of you who have nominated already, a huge thank you!!!!I am grateful for your time and if you could pass this message to friends and family I will be even more happy!!

