Verlaque Contest – I chose not to cook at all!

My first taste of Verlaque products I had at the Food and Wine Show of  2007. I was fascinated with all the different flavors, splashes and infused balsamic reductions. At the time, my favorite without a doubt was the Lemon Olive Oil & Gooseberry Balsamic Splash.
In my household we love our salad dressings and sauces slightly sweet and when I tasted the Verlaque products, I knew that whoever made this, had my palate in mind.My next encounter with the product or shall I rather say the person behind the name Verlaque, was at the South African Food Bloggers Conference. I met Adrienne Verlaque briefly and I remember being in awe of this lady who could think up all these different flavors and combinations. We were also lucky enough to receive some Verlaque products in our hampers.

I must say however, that although there are some awesome recipes on their blog, I have kept cooking with these products to a minimum, simply because I enjoy them in their “virgin” state. I love using them in salads or even on fresh fruit, but for me a chunk of fresh ciabatta to dip in these awesome reductions and splashes, is a sheer luxury.

For my entry to the Verlaque Recipe Challenge, I chose to show how I like to enjoy these amazing products and just to proof that I did switch on my oven, I will post a cooked version of this recipe too.

Mission figs roasted(or not) with Sun dried Turkish Balsamic Reduction 

Ingredients

fresh mission figs
Sun dried Turkish Figs Balsamic Reduction

Make a cross on the stem side of the fig and squeeze with your fingers to open up the fig. Drizzle with the balsamic reduction and enjoy as is with fresh bread, Jamon ham and strong matured cheddar. If you feel the need to cook something you can roast the figs in the balsamic reduction. Just pop the drenched figs in the oven and bake until it is soft and bubbling hot.

How easy is that!

