Chunky Basil Tomato Soup!

A Chunky Basil Tomato soup that you can have on the table in less than an hour sounds like a good idea doesn’t it? This soup delivers big on taste, nutrition, color and not to mention the little effort it takes to make. As many of you know, I have two very adventurous eaters as children. An ordinary sandwich or instant noodles just do not cut it for them.
With 5 weeks of holiday, because of the Fifa World Cup Soccer, keeping these two fed is quite a daunting task…..
My daughter, like her mom, loves a good tomato soup, but because I do all the cooking at night, I seldom feel like making another meal for lunchtime. My friend Jan made this divine Tomato soup the other day and it really had me grabbing for a pen and paper and although I will most definitely try her soup some time, I wanted to make a quick and hearty basil tomato soup. The chunky texture of this soup comes from using red lentils. I am ashamed to say that this is my first cooking experience with red lentils and they soften so easy that I cannot wait for other recipes to try them in. The red lentils however, gives a lovely think and creamy consistency to this soup!Ready to cook? Let someone set the table so long, this is gonna to be quick!

Chunky Basil Tomato Soup – 4 servings

1 medium onion finely chopped
half of each – red, green and yellow peppers
1-2 cloves of garlic
2 tins of chopped tomatoes
1 sachet tomato paste
1 cup red lentils
3-4 cups of chicken or vegetable stock
a big handful of basil
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
salt/pepper to taste
1-2 tsp sugar
vegetable oil

optional extras
basil pesto
chopped coriander
round farm loaf – hollowed out 

Heat a heavy based pot on the stove and add the oil. Sweat the onions, garlic and peppers and paprika until it becomes soft . Add all the other ingredients and let the soup cook for 30 minutes. Add a little water if it becomes to thick. Taste and season accordingly. I serve my soup in a bread bowl with lots of chopped coriander or a dollop of basil pesto!!.

Before I cast off, please hop over the The Love of Wine where I am featuring as one of their ambassadors. Leave a comment and pop in over the next few weeks. We will be put through various challenges so it promises to be most interesting!!!

