Chocolate, Easy, Sauce and hot – great combination when making dessert!

Chocolate, easy, sauce and hot are all words that comes to mind when I dream of desserts. If all those words are combined into the same dessert, I am a one happy cook!I can also tell you which words I do not think about when planning to make desserts and those are low-fat, wholewheat, no-sugar and dairy free.
Maybe that is why I keep desserts for special occasions, times when I can justify puddings with descriptive words like decadent, delicious, over-the-top and down-right irresistible……
Such a pudding is this Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding. Never in your wildest dreams can you imagine that such simple ingredients can become such a delicious treat. I had self-saucing chocolate pudding before but it lacked that intense dark chocolate flavor. I needed to change the recipe somewhat. I was after more chocolate and dark chocolate specifically. The recipe that I tried previously, just asked for ordinary cocoa powder so I knew for that dark chocolate flavor, I needed to use a better quality cocoa powder. I got that taste from Nomu Cocoa and I was right, it made the world of difference in the taste and consistency of the sauce. I also increased the amount of cocoa powder. The result was a dark, thick chocolate sauce that satisfied my worst winter chocolate craving …….Try it, you will not be disappointed!

Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding

250ml (1 cup) flour, sifted
5ml (1teaspoon) baking powder
185ml (¾ cup)  Brown Sugar
75ml (5 Tablespoons) cocoa, sifted
125ml milk
30g (2 Tablespoons) butter or brick margarine, melted
165ml (⅔ cup)Brown Sugar or Treacle Sugar for a richer sauce
60ml (4 Tablespoons) cocoa, sifted (extra)
300ml hot water

 Combine the flour, baking powder, sugar and cocoa into a mixing bowl.Slowly stir in the milk and butter and beat with a wooden spoon until it is smooth.Spread the mixture evenly into a greased 1½ litre ovenproof pudding dish or make individual puddings in smaller ramekins. Combine the sugar and cocoa in a jug and gradually add the hot water, stir till smooth, then gently pour over the top of the pudding. Place the dish on an oven tray.Bake at 180ºC for 30 – 35 minutes or until the pudding has risen and is firm to the touch. When ready to serve, make a small hole in the middle of the pudding and let the cream just flow!!. Dust with a little sifted icing sugar just before serving. Chocolate heaven!!

