Spicy Butternut soup to easy off the cold – Revised

I get so many requests for my Spicy Butternut Soup recipe that I carry copies of it in my handbag and online, it is one of my best performing pages, so I guess I have a winner here. Why would I want to post an old recipe again, I hear you ask. Well first of all, my previous pictures were somewhat outdated and  this time round I added the smallest of changes, and I think it made the soup even better….
I grew up in a quaint little village called, Ceres(the goddess of growing plants), and fruit and vegetables were always in abundance. I don’t remember fruit or vegetables ever arriving at our house in plastic, polystyrene or boxes measured in lbs, kg’s or whatever measurement you can think of. Apples and pears came in wooden crates, peaches,plums and apricots came in baskets and pumpkins and sweet potatoes in truck loads. Friends and families would share truckloads and if someone found a bargain of some sorts, it would be shared by everyone. These days, when I walk into the food market and I see these huge bags of butternut, it is almost as if instinct kicks in…. I have two choices, I can share the butternuts with my friends and family or I can make a big o’l pot of Spicy Butternut Soup and invite them all over to share in this joy!! That is exactly what I did…..

Spicy Butternut Soup

5 medium sized butternuts (When they are huge, I only use 1-2)
1 medium onion
1 heaped Tsp curry powder
2cm piece ginger – grated on your microplaner
1 peeled and grated green apple
500ml chicken or vegetable stock
1 liter of milk
250 ml cream
125ml orange juice
zest of the orange
salt and pepper
grated nutmeg
zest of the orange
zest and juice of i lemon

Saute the onion, garlic, ginger and apple in big soup pot with some oil. Add curry powder.
When translucent, add butternut and stock.
Close lid and cook until butternut is soft.Puree the soup with a stick blender or in a food processor.
Add milk and orange juice. If you have a lot of pumpkin puree, use all the milk, otherwise add until you have a smooth runny, soup.
Pour back into pot and add all seasoning, such as salt, pepper,orange zest and nutmeg.
Stir in 200ml of the cream, keep the rest for decoration.
Please taste your soup and add, maybe a little lemon juice to tart it up, let your own taste buds lead you.

 If you are making this soup for a fancy dinner party, try this version. It looks very impressive and you will definitely be the talk-of-the-table!

Lastly I want to share with you the slight alteration I made to the recipe..(if you promise not to tell hubby, he hates change) I followed the recipe as per normal, but I served it with smoked paprika oil, leeks and some of the pumpkin seeds that I fried in the smoked paprika oil. Not only does it taste divine, I think it looks rather pretty too. What do you think? To make the smoked paprika oil, simply take a tsp of smoked paprika and mix it with 1 tbsp of olive oil. Drizzle over the soup before serving.

