Easy Chocolate Ganache Cake and a Cookbook!

Share Chocolate Ganache must be the ultimate indulgence when it comes to cake toppings and as I browsed the internet this morning, I could tell just how popular it is. I have a confessing to make though, in the past when I saw a recipe for a chocolate ganache cake, I tried to steer away from it, because it seemed like such a complicated and daunting thing to do.
Well, the truth is, it is actually quite simple……..
For those of you who do not know, a ganache is a glaze, icing or filling made from chocolate and cream.It is usually  made by heating heavy/double cream, then pouring it over chopped dark semi-sweet chocolate.It is stirred or whipped to give it a luscious glossy shine.
The ratio of chocolate to cream is varied to obtain the desired consistency, depending on what you need the ganache for. Well I needed it for this very easy, rich chocolate cake so when someone suggested I make “this easy chocolate ganache”, I was all ears and eager to try. This chocolate cake recipe is unconventional, dead-easy to make, egg free and you use only one bowl for mixing and baking. It is the perfect recipe for sending to school on your children’s birthday, because it makes a huge cake.  Sounds like a good idea yet? Come on, let’s bake it together!

Easy Chocolate Ganache Cake

Ingredients

3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 heaped tbsp good quality cocoa
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp fine cloves
1 tsp fine cinnamon
a pinch of salt
Nuts of your choice – optional

2 cups boiling water
1 cup cooking oil
1/3 cup white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract

For the ganache

100gr 70% chocolate chips
1x 360gr tin of Nestle Caramel Treat or Dulce de Leche

Preheat oven to 180C.
Take a oven proof dish and spray with Spray&Cook. Measure and sift all dry  ingredients into the oven dish.
Mix the boiling water, oil and vinegar as well as the vanilla extract in a glass jug.
Add the liquids to the dry ingredients in the oven dish and see how the vinegar and the bicarb starts to work…..kitchen chemistry, I tell you!
Start Mixing……..
Until you have a smooth batter.
Sprinkle some nuts over the batter and bake …..
……in a pre-heated oven for about 25-30 minutes. 
For the ganache, melt the chocolate over boiling water and mix with the caramel. You can whip this with a whisk for a smooth and glossy consistency.
When the cake has cooled down, spread the ganache over the cake and enjoy!
  
As you all know by now, I am forever involved in some kind of charity work. Every now and then there are some big fundraisers for worthy causes such as the Haiti Fund or The Blogger Aid fund doing the rounds here on the blogs. I am always amazed at the effort  that bloggers put into making these fundraisers successful. I like to be hands on and I suppose God answered my prayers by opening my eyes to the needs around me. I see children dropping out of school because they do not have the right books, stationary or clothing. I see children as young as 8-9 years using alcohol or other substances just to make their daily existence more bearable. These are the kids I want to help and mentioned this on my other blog a while back. A fellow blogger friend of mine Tandy has just completed her first cookbook and decided to donate a percentage of each book sold to my “nameless” charity drive. I was so overwhelmed and I am extremely grateful for this act of  kindness. Thank you Tandy. The book is called Lavender & Lime and consists of 80 of her favorite recipes. I had a sneak preview of this book and will most definitely try a few of her tasty recipes. You can visit Tandy here and order the books from her site or just click on the logo below. Thank You again Tandy!!
