Best Seafood Stew I’ve ever had……

It really was the Best Seafood Stew that I have ever had……it was fragrant, light and slightly spicy. Although it is still definitely summer around here, yesterday for some reason it was rainy and cold, so I felt like soup, but not a thick and chunky winter soup.
Just something that will warm up our bellies…. I had a nice selection of seafood, fresh hake, mussels, cockles and some calamari and I wanted to poach the seafood rather than make a thick sauce with it.

So I made a broth with the off cuts from the fish and some typical Thai flavors and poached the fish in it. Before I waffle too much, let me rather give you a recipe……

Best Seafood poached in a Thai broth and served with Coconut Cream….

Ingredients

1 kg hake fillets – cut in big chunks
500gr mussels
300gr cockles or clams
1 onion
1 stick lemon grass
1 clove garlic
a piece of palm sugar or brown sugar if you do not have palm sugar.
1 thumb size piece ginger – grated
1 heaped teaspoon green curry paste
some fish sauce
1 tin coconut cream
about 1 liter of fish stock – I made mine, but you can use bought.
vegetable oil.

Add some vegetable oil to a pan  and add the onions and  all the spices and flavorings. Saute for a while and then add the fish stock. Let it simmer for about 5 minutes for the flavors to infuse the broth and then add the fish chunks. I did my stew in a wok, so I covered it with foil and poached the fish for about 5-6 minutes. Open the foil and add the other seafood. Cover again and poach for another 5 minutes. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed. Add the coconut cream and slowly stir through just before serving…. Serve with fresh coriander and some chopped chili.

This has been a very good week for me. I have been selected as Blogger of the week on Food24, I won two tickets to a Thai restaurant and I won a R3000 cake set in a Natreen Competition. On top of all that, I am so excited, because my new site is almost finished, yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Looking for some other soup recipes:




Greek Gazpacho

