Easy snack recipe!

Show me an easy snack recipe and I am always eager to try it. For those days when you lack inspiration and oompf for the kitchen, these recipes are ideal. If this easy snack recipe requires very little prep work and no time in front of the stove, I am even more tempted to try it.

Easy snacks can be as simple as a toasted cheese sandwich, or it can be as elaborate as a decadent chicken liver pate. In summer we prefer something lite and cold such as Mini Caprese Salads  or Ham and Watercress Wraps, but in winter even if it is snackfood, it needs to be warm and comforting, such as Beer-battered Onion rings or Quesidillas.
Snacking is good for you! Yeah, right, I hear you say!!! Well let me say that in a different way, if you rely on pre-made and packaged snacks, you are heading for trouble. The fat and sugar content of those snacks are definitely not good for you, not to mention the amount of colorants and preservatives. If however, you make your own snacks, using fresh ingredients and limit the the amount of frying, eating 6 smaller meals a day is far better for you than 3 huge meals.
The following snack recipe I found on Food24 and it is a competition run by Natreen(a sugar replacement).  This was right up my alley because my hubby found out last week that he has a slight sugar problem and that we have to reduce the amount of sugar he uses. This cream cheese bagel, requires almost no time to assemble and all I had to do was to take a photo of my finished meal and I stand a chance of winning Carol Boyes products to the value of R3000.
The recipes is quite simple and hubs said: ” this must be one of the nicest sandwiches I had in a long time!”

So here is my (hopefully winning) version of …

Brunch Bagels

Ingredients

 2Bagels

1 cup fresh pineapple, chopped
125g low fat cottage cheese
1.5tsp medium curry powder
 about 1 tsp Natreen Liquid
2 Tbs chives, chopped

 Method

Cut half of the pineapple into small dices and mix with cottage cheese, curry powder, a few drops of Natreen (sweeten to taste)
and a tablespoon of diced chives. Season with salt and pepper.

Cut two bagels in half, spread the cheese mixture onto the half bagels, add the remaining pineapple on top and sprinkle
with one teaspoon of diced chives each.

Need any more snack recipes for the super bowl? Look no further!

Bamboo-skewered Chicken wings

