Bamboo-Skewered-chicken. Grilled chicken with a twist!

 Bamboo-skewered chicken……….yes you may be as shocked or amazed as I was when I read about it in the latest edition of Fresh Living. Grilled chicken, Skewered Chicken and not to forget Fried Chicken are always near the top in my book.
Chicken is welcome the world over, but mention it to many South African men and they refer to chicken as vegetables. I therefore have made it my task to give chicken its rightful place on my menu instead of just being one of Africa’s affordable meats of choice.

I thought Bamboo-skewered chicken was the most ingenious trick to catch my unsuspecting husband and to further broaden his poultry pleasure. Who will forget my Lemon Chicken breast post where I really attempted to make that bird look like it was from Baywatch or Sticky Chicken Kebabs or Sticky Chicken wings. None of these however had the impact that this Bamboo Chicken had on “The Husband”.
The story gets even more interesting when I attempted to find bamboo or cane and used the internet and found a place right next to “The Husbands” factory which I really believed could help me called Bamboo Traders. To my disappointment, I couldn’t find what I needed but rather found what I wanted…….2 strapping,  young men (click to check them out for yourself)……..running a factory that imports Bamboo flooring that can change average houses into very stylish homes with kitchens and rooms to die for. I dream of kitchens with floors like these…….You can also click on the ad in my sidebar for further details. Ladies, your dream of beautiful flooring for your home, can soon be a reality.

 

Forgetting these well traveled gents and back to our well positioned chicken. The husband loves sticky, tangy, “lekka” and lets not forget sweet, basting sauces. I believe this was key but the piece-de-resistance was eventually finding cane/bamboo (I’ve Googled the difference and still am not sure) in a display in my own home….splitting it almost all the way through and then pinching the chicken between the two pieces and securing it with a piece of thin wire on the end. I assured my family that I had sterilized my equipment as they feared some exotic disease to match their exotic meal.

Apart from the ingenious way of serving this chicken, it was also the basting sauce that grabbed my attention. I knew it was something that The Husband would like. The base of the sauce is apricot jam so I had no doubt in my mind that it would be sweet enough for him…..and oh boy, was I right!!!!  So let’s make it together…….

Bamboo-Skewered Chicken ( serves 4-6 people)
Ingredients
1/2 cup smooth apricot jam
3 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
2 tsp grated fresh Ginger
2 cloves garlic – crushed
1 red chili – finely chopped(leave seeds in it you like it hot)
juice of 1 orange
juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tsp ground coriander
salt/pepper
8 chicken pieces – I used thighs and drumsticks
Mix all the ingredients for the marinade/basting sauce and pour over chicken for at least an hour. Overnight is best. Grill chicken over moderate coals turning and basting frequently with reserved marinade for about 30-40 minutes, or until cooked. Remove from the coals and brush with remaining marinade.
Serve with fresh coriander leaves and a few lime wedges.
To make the bamboo skewers
Cut the bamboo sticks into 30cm lengths. Split each stick down the length and remove the soft fibers. Place the chicken pieces between the split parts of the bamboo and secure with a piece of wire to hold the chicken pieces together.
If you do not want to do the bamboo trick, simply grill in the oven or use a grid on the coals.

