Seafood pasta – Squid Ink pasta with Prawns and grilled Calamari!!

Seafood Pasta was what I needed last night to make the leap back into reality a more pleasant experience. I had such a fantastic holiday at my two favorite places that coming back into the habit of cooking and cleaning was traumatic for me to say the least!!
We went to the Beacon Isle in Plettenberg Bay and also to our holiday house in Hermanus for the remainder of our holiday, but more about that later in the post!!!!

Making this delicious seafood pasta really was an effortless way to ease me back into cooking mode after a holiday of fine dining and Mom’s spoiling. I wanted a dramatic backdrop for the lovely fresh prawns and squid I had  and what could be more dramatic than a bowl of black steaming squid ink pasta!! It was the first time I cooked squid ink pasta and it was met with mixed feelings at the table. I just had to giggle when dad told the children: “Close your eyes and eat!” It is a case of mind over matter, I don’t think the squid ink pasta tastes any different to normal pasta, but it looks so beautiful on a plate with the prawns and the squid!!
This seafood pasta was ready in no time and it delivered on taste, color and dramatic effect!! What you need is the following:

Squid Ink Pasta with Prawns
Ingredients – (serves 6 as a main course)

500gr squid ink pasta – cooked until al dente
1 kg prawns
250 gr squid – cut into manageable pieces and scored in a criss-cross fashion
olive oil
lemon
salt/pepper/chili
125gr goat’s cheese

While the pasta is cooking, heat a skillet until smoking hot. Season the squid with lemon juice, salt, pepper and chili flakes and sear in this hot pan for about 30 seconds. Keep warm. Now season the prawns and pan-fry them until they change color and are perfectly cooked.
When the pasta is cooked, drain and plate up. Serve each plate with a generous helping of squid ink Pasta, some prawns and squid and crumble some goat’s cheese over the top. Finish of with fresh watercress and a drizzle of olive oil!!!! Divine!

I am submitting this recipe to Presto Pasta Nights which is the an event started by  Canadian Ruth over at Once Upon a Feast – Every Kitchen Tells It’s Stories.

 

I am sure you all know by now about the new Blogger-aid Cookbook and if you don’t you should go and check it out. Last year I submitted a recipe and simply forgot about it. A few months went by and then I was informed that they wanted to use my recipe, could I please provide them with a photograph. But still I did not think much of it. When the book was launched, I ordered mine to do my bit for this great cause of fighting famine amongst children.So, you can imagine how absolutely thrilled I was when my book arrived and I saw my recipe for this delicious Low-fat Chicken Pie
Val and Giz and all the people who made this book “happen” I just want to say: “You guys are phenomenal, absolutely flippen amazing!!! It is a beautiful book and I am so grateful to be a part of it. Thank you!! To purchase you own copy of this beautiful book, simply click here!!

Finally a little  boasting…..
This post is becoming a little long-winded for me so I will tell you about my holiday at a later stage. I just wanted to tell you that my recipe for Lemon Possets was served at a private party at the hotel we stayed in and with all the chefs in that huge hotel kitchen I was thrilled to be asked for MY recipe and Ideas on this divine dessert!!!!

