Cherries in abundance so lets make cherry dessert!!!

Cherries are always in abundance this time of year and I remember as a child we would always spend a whole day on this  specific farm, picking and eating cherries until our tummies hurt. At the end of such a day we would take some cherries home with us to use as decorations on our Christmas trifle and fruit salad. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine cooking with these beautiful fruits.

It was only later in my life that I started to experiment with cherries and using them more in more in my recipes, such as cherries marinated in Kirsch to make a Black Forest Trifle or even using them in savory recipes, such as my Chicken Liver paired with cherries and deep fried sage. A dessert that has always fascinated me though, is Cherry Clafoutis….I don’t know why, maybe because it is French and I love the French or maybe it is because of the cherries nested in the soft vanilla mattress that I always drooled over pictures of Cherry Clafoutis. Having said that, I have always thought it was difficult to make and boy, was I happy to find out that I was wrong. It is the easiest thing to make and the element of this dish that took up the most time was pipping the cherries(only to read today that the pips should traditionally be left in!!).
My only problem was that I filled the dishes to the top and some of the clafoutis spilled over and I think next time I will bake them in a waterbath! The taste, however was glorious and with a drizzle of cream over the top…..heaven!!!!

I used the a recipe from Souvlaki for the Soul. Peter is not only a wonderful cook, but his photography is most of the times breathtaking to me….. go see for yourself!

