Asian Recipes – Panfried Hake with Spicy Satay salad

Asian recipes have always inspired me and although I am not at all claiming to know a lot, I learn new recipes every day and I would say from eating Thai food every once in a while when we went out for a meal, we are now enjoying Thai food at least once or even twice a month…and I can make it myself!!

I was lucky enough to be at the fish monger the other day when the fresh hake arrived and could not resist getting some. Hake is currently a “green” fish on our Sassi list, but if you read this article, there is reason to be alarmed. Anyway, at the moment we are still safe to eat hake and in my humble opinion it is the most divine white fish available here, provided that it is fresh and not these thin fish smelling fillets that you buy frozen in boxes.
I felt like a Thai inspired meal and I wanted the Eastern flavors to be present in every element of the dish, so this is what I came up with….

Pan-fried Hale with Spicy Satay Salad

Ingredients
For the fish
4x 250gr hake portions
6 slices of white bread
1 chili
fresh coriander, Thai basil and parsley
salt/pepper
3 eggs – lightly beaten
vegetable oil for frying
Place all bread, chili and fresh herbs in a food processor and blitz until you have fine bread crumbs.Season the breadcrumbs and the fish and dip the fillets in the egg and then in the breadcrumbs. Leave the breaded fish in the fridge for at least 1 hour. When ready, fry the fish in a skillet until done.
For the Salad
2 cups red cabbage – shredded finely
1 carrot
1/2 red pepper
1/2 yellow pepper
1/2 green pepper
3cm piece ginger
1 chili
young green beans – blanched and sliced diagonally
Dressing
80ml rice vinegar
60ml chunky peanut butter
2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbs soy sauce
2 tsp fish sauce
juice and zest of 1 lime
Slice all the vegetables in very thin strips. Mix all the ingredients for the dressing and pour over the salad just before serving.
This Asian recipe came together beautifully and the balance was just right. Definitely a recipe that will appear on my menu plan more often.

