Easy Beef recipes – Mongolian Beef

This must be one of the easiest beef recipes I have seen in a long time and yet the aroma that filled my kitchen while this Mongolian Beef was cooking was utterly intoxicating and the taste…sublime!!

I have been following Elly’s blog, Elly says Opa! since the early days on My easy Cooking and I am always fascinated with how she can make everything she cooks seem so simple. Like this easy Mongolian Beef.…such simple ingredients, but somehow when you eat it, it tastes as if there is some exotic spice in there. I tweaked the recipe somewhat, simply because I had other things to do so I put the beef in the oven in stead of in a wok and also I had to add some vegetables to bulk up( my family “grew” somewhat as it got closer to lunch time – I think it was the delicious aroma).

Please go and check out this delightful site, I am sure she will not mind!! There are lots of tasty recipes to be found there!! So without any further waffling, here it is….

Elly’s Mongolian Beef (copied and pasted from her site- my changes in red)

Serves 2 – x4 ( I served 8)
Adapted from
Pink Bites
2/3 lb. flank steak, sliced across the grain – about 2 kg
3 Tbsp. corn starch- 12 tbsp
3 tsp. canola oil, divided – did not use
1/2 tsp. grated ginger – 2 tsp
2 cloves garlic, minced – 4 cloves
1/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce – about 1 cup
1/3 cup water – about 2 cups
1/4 cup brown sugar – 1/2 cup
1/4 tsp. (heaping) red pepper flakes – 1 tsp
2-3 large scallions, sliced – 6 scallions

I added 500gr blanched and chopped green beans.

Preheat oven to 180C
Pat the steak pieces and make sure they’re dry; then, toss the steak and cornstarch together. Be sure all pieces are fully coated, but shake off excess corn starch. Mix together the soy sauce, water, brown sugar and red pepper flakes.

Place in a big oven-proof flat casserole dish. Mix all other ingredients, except the beans and scallions and pour over the meat. Place the casserole dish in the oven and leave for about 1 hour. When cooked, add green beans and scallions and serve with fluffy white rice….

