Millionaire’s Shortbread

Making Millionaire’s Shortbread is not something that I would have willingly decided to make a few months ago, because I could simply just go and buy it at Woolworths. However with all of us feeling the constraints that the worldwide economic crisis has placed on all our food budgets, we have to all find frugal ways of still making tasty meals and special treats for our loved ones.

Although, I spend lots of time in the kitchen trying new recipes and cooking methods, I have never attempted making sweets and I have always wanted to make a deliciously creamy toffee.

When I saw this recipe for Milionaire’s Shortbread on Joy of Baking.com, I decided to try my hand at this treat, while at the same time make my own toffee in stead of using the Dulce de Leche that she suggested. For the toffee layer, I used….

Caramel Toffee

150 gr butter
125ml caster sugar
3 tbsp golden syrup
225gr condensed milk.

Place all the ingredients in pot and melt on low heat until the sugar has dissolved. Increase the heat slightly and let the mixture boil for about 10 minutes, until it reaches soft-ball stage.

Definition of softball stage(copied directly for About.com)

Definition: Soft-ball stage refers to a specific temperature range when cooking sugar syrups. Soft-Ball Stage occurs at 235-245 degrees. This stage can be determined by dropping a spoonful of hot syrup into a bowl of very cold water. In the water, use your fingers to gather the cooled syrup into a ball. If it has reached soft-ball stage, the syrup easily forms a ball while in the cold water, but flattens once removed from the water.

