Tomatoes – Stuff ’em!!!!

Photobucket

I love tomatoes – raw, cooked, sliced, chopped, pureed, sauteed, or any other way….I just adore them. Sadly though, tomatoes are very often the “supporting act” in a recipe and the focus is on the meat or fish that it is served with. Yesterday I felt like tomatoes and anchovies and ciabatta and……..but mostly tomatoes!!!! So here is what I came up with!!!

Stuffed Tomatoes

Ingredients ( I will just list them, you adapt the quantities according to your servings)

tomatoes
ciabatta bread – can be day old
baby tomatoes – different colors of you have.
anchovies
onion – finely chopped
olive oil
thyme
mozzarella cheese – grated

Method

Preheat oven to 180C
Cut the top off the tomatoes and remove all the flesh inside with a spoon. Cut the baby tomatoes and ciabatta in small cubes. and place in a bowl. Add some chopped onion( I used 1 tbsp for 2 tomatoes), chopped anchovies and thyme. Drizzle with the olive oil and mix. Stuff the tomatoes to the top and bake in a oven for about 30-40 minutes. Take out the oven, top with some grated mozzarella and pop back in the oven for another 5 minutes.

Serve this with more fresh ciabatta or a dollop of mash like I did!!! Trust me, this takes the humble old tomato to a totally new level . Try it!!!

What is your favorite tomato recipe- tell us or post about it, you can even share a recipe or two!!!

(ps. My photos is horrible, but the natural light during winter is just not photography friendly!)

