Moroccan Lamb and Couscous

Photobucket

A while back( I am embarrassed to say), my friend Wendy from Mint Tea & Tagine send me a lovely surprise all the way from Morocco. It was a little wooden camel, a beautiful necklace and some Moroccan spices.

I swear, I could smell those spices in the Postnet already!! I have to admit that I was a bit intimidated with all the different spices, but slowly but surely I got the hang of it. I made 3 Moroccan dishes so far….Chicken Tagine, Moroccan beef and Bean stew and the recipe below. Needless to say, the recipe I am sharing today, won the family’s vote by far and I will make this again for sure….

Moroccan Lamb riblets with Couscous

Moroccan Dry Rub

Ingredients

1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/2 tsp ground cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder

Method

Mix all the ingredients and rub the riblets or chops with it!

Preheat the griller of your oven and place the riblets on a baking tray with a dripping rack. Grill the riblets until it it is done to your preference. We like the little caramelized bits.

Couscous

Ingredients

2 cups couscous

1 ½ cups vegetable stock

1 red pepper

1 green pepper

About ½ tbsp chopper garlic

½ tbsp grated ginger

½ cup flaked almonds

Skin of ½ preserved lemon

Method

Make couscous according to packet instructions, but instead of water, I use vegetable stock. Leave to stand for about 10-15 minutes. In the meantime, heat the oil on a pan and add the onion, garlic , ginger and peppers and saute until done. Add some the lemon, almonds and some chopped mint. Mix with the couscous and serve with your delicious lamb.

