Bread and Cheese and you have a meal!!!

Photobucket  I believe that if I have bread and cheese in my house, I can feed my family and if you just think of the endless list of different cheeses and breads available in this world, they can in fact eat bread and cheese every night for a very long time and never have the same meal twice!!
At the moment my bread of choice is the Wild Yeast Ciabatta from our local bakery. If you are energetic enough and you want to make your own wild yeast starter, go right ahead….. So for today’s Deli Sandwich I used the Ciabattas and some Goat’s Cheese rolled in Sun-dried tomatoes and fresh herbs. The winning ingredient here is my……

Caramelized Onions with Red wine and Balsamic Glaze

500gr small onions – peel, but keep the bottoms in tact as this keeps the onion together during cooking.
250ml red wine
100ml balsamic vinegar
2 Tbsp sugar
80gr butter
1 star anise
pinch of salt
a sprig of thyme

Brown onions in the butter and then add all the other ingredients. Cook onions until soft, yet firm to the touch. Remove from the pot and keep reducing the red wine until thick and syrupy. Pour over the onions and cool. Keep in a glass jar in the fridge until needed for sandwiches, quiches, tarte tatin(recipe to follow) or with cold meats.
For the sandwich, simply cut the ciabatta lengthwise and butter slightly. Top with rocket, goat’s cheese and then the “Piece de Resistence”, the onions. Drizzle with the glaze and some pomegranate pips just before serving and voila…….the best bread and cheese meal you will ever have!!

Please do not forget to send in your nominations(hopefully for me!) for the SA Blog Awards. Just click on the badge below. Closing date is tomorrow 18/03/2009)

