Peppadew Chicken – A proudly South African recipe

Photobucket

Peppadews as you all know from my previous posts are a true South African product and you can read the whole Peppadew story here. I always have a bottle of red Peppadews in the fridge and now you can also find the Golden variety. Peppadews are lovely on their own(straight out the bottle), perfect on sandwiches, stuffed at a party and they make the most delicious marinades because of their sweet and tangy taste.

Yesterday I knew that I was going to be busy with school activities, so in the morning I made this sauce/marinade and when I got home, just popped it in the oven and it was ready in no time.

Peppadew Chicken
8 chicken pieces – I used de-boned and skinless breasts.
1 medium onion
1/2 cup peppadews
1 cup yogurt
1/2 cup Mrs Ball’s Chutney – or any equivalent, if there is!!!
2 heaped tbsp flour
1 red chili

Place all the ingredients, except the chicken, in a food processor and blitz until it is a thick chunky sauce. Season the chicken with salt and place in a oven-proof dish. Pour the sauce/marinade over and baked for 1 hour at 180C or until nicely browned. Or prepare the dish in advance and bake when ready.

I served my Peppadew Chicken with A delicious savory rice made with tumeric and red and yellow peppers as well as some wilted baby spinach!

Nominations for the South African Blogawards close today!

