Beef Stroganoff – a huge debate!

Photobucket

Beef Stroganoff is not exactly the kind of dish to make when you are trying to lose weight, but after weeks of eating salads, chicken and fish for my Going Red project, my family was craving something a “little more substantial” as my husband so kindly put it!
When I Googled for a recipe, I found this heated debate and I had to come to the conclusion that Beef Stroganoff is just like so many other recipes where there are many variants of the same dish and that the variations are often due to what ingredients are available in that specific area.

With Beef Stroganoff the differences are, from what I can see, tomato paste or not, wine or not and beef cubes or strips….. So whether my take on this classic is authentic or not, it was a most enjoyable meal and we all thoroughly enjoyed it.

Beef Stroganoff

800gr Lean Beef, cubed
1 medium onion – finely chopped
2 tbsp oil
1 tsp smoked paprika
2 cloves garlic – crushed
125ml red wine
+- 500ml beef stock
lots of black pepper
salt
250ml sour cream
500gr white mushrooms – halved
chopped parsley
1 tbsp of roux – made with 1 tbsp of flour mixed with oil until it forms a paste.

Heat a pot on the stove and add the oil. Add the onion, garlic and smoked paprika and saute the onions until they are soft and translucent. Add the beef cubes and allow to brown slightly. Add the wine and stock and cook the beef until soft..about 40 minutes. Add more stock if needed. Add the mushrooms and allow to cook for another 10 minutes or until the mushrooms are cooked. Season with salt and pepper and add the roux. Stir until it thickens and then add the sour cream. If the Stroganoff is too thick, add a little more stock or water.
I served my Beef Stroganoff with noodles, fried sage leaves , sprinkling of smoked paprika and chopped parsley.

Please don’t forget to make your nominations for the South African Blog Awards. You can read the rules here and nominate here!

