Wholewheat Chicken -Pitas- with- Bean- Sprouts- and- a- Curry- Sauce

Photobucket

Running a business without advertising is like kissing your girlfriend in the dark….you know what you are doing, but no one else does!!!!!! So marketing your site or business is vital, but advertising and marketing companies can cost you a large amount of money. Well, eat your heart out ladies/gentlemen….I married a marketer!!!!
He can sell snow to an Eskimo and sand to a nomad and every opportunity to him is a platform to sell or market something. So, today was one of those perfect opportunities for him…..you see, my children had their annual Sports day today and because it was on Valentine’s Day, their color was ….guess what….RED!!!


So to keep in line with me joining the Go Red for Women campaign, he went to the Heart Foundation and bought each and every one of those children a sticker, which in essence “allowed” them to wear red for the Dress Red campaign. He attached a note to every little sticker, inviting people to come to my website and learn how to care for their children’s hearts. All the monies raised will go towards saving little hearts from future heartache, by providing funding for educational awareness campaigns in previously disadvantaged areas of South Africa.
So, dear friends, I know my husband’s heart is in the right place and that he loves me more than anything in this world!!!

Now for today’s recipe…I promised you many more healthy recipes, so here goes. Oh, before I continue, I want to just share another thought with you. If I had to get rid of all the fat, all the sugar and all the refined starches in one week, I will lose interest and I will be back where I started a couple of days ago. So my aim is to just reduce all the wrong stuff and to slowly work them out of my diet…

Wholewheat Chicken Pitas

4 wholewheat pitas
2 chicken breasts – boneless, skinless and cut into strips
1/2 red pepper – sliced
1/2 yellow pepper – sliced
1/2 red onion – sliced
1 tbsp oyster sauce – normally I used lots more!!!
15ml canola oil – normally I used about 3 tbsp
bean sprouts
4 tbsp fat free Bulgarian Yogurt
1 tsp curry powder
a few lettuce leaves

Heat the oil in the wok and fry the chicken strips until partially cooked. Add all the veggies and stir fry until cooked, but still crisp. Add the oyster sauce and season to taste. Warm the pitas and put some lettuce in the halved pitas. Top with the chicken stir fry and dress with some yogurt dressing. I served it with store-bought matchstick potato crisps, but my family disliked the crisps.
Here are a few of my GO Red For Nina pictures.

