Love- your- heart- this- Valentine’s Day!

Photobucket

Today, 14th February is Valentine’s day and people from all walks of life will for one day at least, “spread the love”. Delicious recipes in red and white have adorned my computer screen for the past week and many a post has been written on this topic. My favorite is that of Culinary Concoctions by Peabody – this is how I understand love !!!
I too, have racked my brain to come up with a decadent and delicious recipe to post and a dessert was the obvious choice!. My hero when it comes to making desserts is without a doubt, James Martin and I have even attended one of his workshops. My dessert of choice was therefor one of his recipes and I was intrigued by the fact that it had only 3 ingredients……..
Lemon Posset with Berries and Shortbread

For the lemon Posset ( I got 5 small servings- slightly bigger than a shot glass)

Ingredients

500ml double cream
125ml caster sugar
zest and juice of a lemon

Place cream and sugar in a pot and slowly bring to the boil and boil for 3 minutes and allow to cool slightly. Add the zest and juice and stir well. Pour into small glasses and chill for a couple of hours. Decorate with fresh berries and little shortbread hearts. For the shortbread recipes, click here! Normally I would stop here, but please do not stop reading…you are about to become a witness to a life changing moment for me!!!!

Hello, My name is Nina Timm and I have decided to GO RED!!!!

MY husband met a lady, Adeliah Jacobs on the plane recently and he has not stopped nagging me to get on to the Heart Foundation website and investigate going RED.
You have seen my recipes and enjoyed my photos, but I have to change from super-creamy to lean and dreamy…you catch my drift???? I have to start thinking low-fat, low-sugar and low-sodium, but still find a place in all of this to be creative and not loose the taste and the flavor.

After polishing this dessert last night, I felt really rather out of sorts, even though it is a fantastic recipe that everyone should try at least once in their lives. I knew this was too much of a good thing and I will have to give my health some serious consideration. I went onto the Heart Foundation’s site and decided to look for some guidance there. I found this quiz and sadly, I had far more “yes” than “no” answers. Read these questions carefully and make a decision today as to how you will live from now on.

  1. Do you smoke?
  2. Are you overweight?
  3. Do you exercise less than 3 x 30 minutes per week?
  4. Do you have a high cholesterol reading (over 5)?
  5. Do you suffer from high blood pressure?
  6. Do you have a family history of heart disease or stroke?
  7. Do you have a family history of diabetes?
  8. Does stress seem to overwhelm you?
  9. Do you eat takeaway foods at least once a week?
  10. Is your diet high in animal fats?
  11. Do you eat the fat on meat and chicken skin?
  12. Do you usually eat fried foods?
  13. Do you eat less than 5 portions of fruit and vegetable a day?
  14. Does your dinner plate usually consist of meat and potatoes?

Did you answer yes to most of these questions? The more risk factors you have the greater your chance of heart disease. Why not make some small changes today?
The heart Foundation has a site dedicated to women and this site, Go Red for Women, is very informative and I encourage you to read as much as you can. For me this is so overwhelming, but my dear sister sent me this link to Beliefnet just to ease the pain. So, I will do it in baby steps and will need all the encouragement I can get, but I have to Love my heart and make the right choices from now on. My first encouragement came from Hubby himself,who sent me this card this morning. My goals for this coming week:

1. Eat breakfast – I don’t and I know this is SOOOO wrong!
2. Omit all bad sugars from my diet.
3. Do some form of exercise every day!

Hold thumbs!
Below I have put in my first healthier recipe.Stay tuned for many healthy recipes to follow.!

