Pork-fillet-with-a-creamy-mushroom-and-sweet-wine-sauce

I love pork and although some people might be freaked out by this, we have pork at least once or twice a month. My favorite cut has always been the neck chop, but when I want something a little bit more formal, my choice of pork is fillet. It has no visible fat, good for portion control and I think very good value for money.

I am catering for two big functions again this weekend so there is no time for elaborate recipes. Pork fillet is ideal, because it cooks super fast and gives you just enough time to make this lovely Mushroom sauce.

Photobucket

Pork Fillet with creamy mushroom sauce

Ingredients (4 servings)

800gr pork fillet – trimmed and cut into portion sizes (4x200gr)
any rub of choice – I used a garlic, herb and pepper rub
a little salt
olive oil

Preheat oven to 180C.
Sprinkle the rub on a piece of plastic wrap and roll the fillet in the rub until evenly coated.Heat a skillet until smoking hot, add the olive oil and brown the pieces of fillet on all sides. Finish cooking the fillet in the preheated oven for about 10-12 minutes(no raw pork for me!) No make the sauce!

Ingredients

250g white mushrooms – cleaned and sliced
1/2 cup white wine
2 Tbsp sweet wine
salt and pepper to taste
15ml cornstarch
250ml cream or non-dairy “cream”

After you have removed the fillet from the skillet, de-glaze the pan with the white wine. Add the mushrooms and cook for about 5 minutes. Mix the corn starch with a little water and then with the cream. Add to the pan and stir. If the sauce is too thick add a dash more wine. Season with salt and pepper and finally add the sweet wine. Mix keep aside. When the fillets have cooked, slice and serve on a bed of fluffy mashed potatoes and spoon over the sauce. I served sauteed leeks with my meal!

