Homemade Cheese…..

PhotobucketMaking my own cheese???No, never!!! Well that is what I would have said…. last year, but as this is the year of new beginnings for so many people, I decided to step out of my comfort zone a little and try new and exciting things, like making my own cheese.
I have tried it once before and it was not too bad. This time I got the recipe from a local magazine, Food and Home and I was inspired to try and make my own Panneer.

How to make your own Paneer?

Ingredients

2 liter full cream milk
90ml fresh lemon juice
a pinch of salt

Pour milk in a sauce pan and heat gently. Add lemon juice and bring the milk up to the boil. The milk will coagulate as the curd seperates from the whey.( if you are making a herb cheese, now add the herbs of choice) Remove from the heat and pour the milk through a mouseline cloth. Tie the cloth at the corners and place in a strainer and leave to drain overnight in the fridge. The next day, you can remove the cloth and serve.
For herb cheese, add pepper and 100g fresh herbs, chopped.
For olive cheese, add 100gr pitted and chopped black olives.

I served my paneer for breakfast with some grilled peaches.

Photobucket

Tonight, I watched with millions of people around the world how Barack Obama was inaugurated as the 44th( and first black) president of the United States of America. I was touched by his humble spirit and my heart was filled with hope not only for America, but but for every nation around the world that is influenced by the USA in some or other form. The amazing thing is, that I am not even an American, but I know if the leading nation in the world is OK, we will all be OK!


